Dean Jones picks his dream T20 XI

Dean Jones picks his dream T20 XI

He picked Hayden and Greenidge as the openers of his team.

Dean Jones
Dean Jones. (Photo Source: Twitter)

The advent of T20 format has led to cricket being revolutionised and modern cricket is all about the T20 leagues across the world. Rather some of the international cricketers prefer playing the leagues over their country as they don’t have to stretch themselves much. No wonder the shortest format has changed the dynamics of the sport and the approach of the players.

But just imagine the former players of the 20th century playing the T20s. How they would’ve adapted to the format? No doubt their effectiveness would’ve been the same as some of the players were supremely fit and were used to bowling at the same pace for long spells. Playing the T20 matches wouldn’t have been a big deal for them.

Bearing in mind the same, Dean Jones has picked the dream T20 team which is a perfect blend of 20th and 21st-century cricketers. The team is so strong and would’ve definitely beaten any team of the current generation.

Who all has Jones picked?

To start with, the former Australian cricketer has gone with Matthew Hayden and Gordon Greenidge as the opener of his team. Both the players were aggressive during their respective careers and are perfect to take advantage of the first six overs in the powerplay. The middle-order comprises of a classic trio – Sir Vivian Richards, Brian Lara, Martin Crowe – who had the ability to adapt to any kind of situation.

Richards was ripping apart the opposition bowling line-ups even in the 1980s and it wouldn’t have been much of a problem for him to bat at three in the T20s. Lara and Crowe were the perfect picks from Dean Jones as they would’ve taken care of the middle overs where the strike rotation is also important. Ian Botham, the legendary England cricketer, is the lone all-rounder in Jones’ team.

Interestingly, amidst all these players, MS Dhoni is the only current active cricketer picked by Dean Jones and he will bat at seven. He has been one of the best finishers the sport has ever seen and his wicketkeeping skills are unmatched. Jones selected Shane Warne as the spinner in his team while the pace attack comprised of Wasim Akram, Joel Garner and Curtly Ambrose.

No wonder this team is extremely strong and though Jones didn’t name the captain of the side, these legendary don’t need any particular leader.

Dean Jones’ dream T20 XI: Matthew Hayden, Gordon Greenidge, Sir Vivian Richards, Brian Lara, Martin Crowe, Ian Botham, MS Dhoni, Shane Warne, Wasim Akram, Curtly Ambrose, Joel Garner.

Here’s the video: