Deodhar Trophy 2018-19: BCCI announces the India A, India B and India C squads

The tournament will commence on October 23.

Dinesh Karthik
Dinesh Karthik. (Photo Source: ISHARA S. KODIKARA/AFP/Getty Images)

View : 22.9K

2 Min Read

Get every cricket updates! Follow us on

Vijay Hazare Trophy is about to conclude as the final is set to be played on Saturday with Delhi and Jharkhand fighting it out to face Mumbai. Meanwhile, the BCCI has announced the squads of the three teams for the upcoming Deodhar Trophy which will commence on October 23. Dinesh Karthik, Shreyas Iyer and Ajinkya Rahane have been named the captains of India A, India B and India C teams for the tournament.

Karthik getting appointed as the skipper proves that he is still in the plans of the selectors. He was axed from the squad for the first couple of ODIs against the Windies despite faring decently in the Asia Cup and now has a great chance to stake his claim once again with a brilliant performance. The likes of Prithvi Shaw, Ankit Bawne and Karun Nair are also part of the India A side.

Who all are part of B and C squads?

Decent performers of Vijay Hazare Trophy are generally included in the Deodar Trophy squads and this time too the budding cricketers have been given an opportunity to shine. Mayank Agarwal, who didn’t get a chance to debut against Windies in Tests, is part of India B as the likes of Shahbaz Nadeem, Deepak Chahar, Hanuma Vihari among others have also been included.

Ajinkya Rahane too has been sidelined since South Africa tour in the ODIs and he will look to grab the eyeballs of the selectors with a decent show for India C while leading the team. Suresh Raina will play under his captaincy and this might probably the last chance for him to impress the selectors and stay in contention for the World Cup next year.

The U19 sensation Shubman Gill, the experienced Suryakumar Yadav and Ishan Kishan are also part of the team as all the three teams look formidable to make a thrilling contest. All the matches are set to be played at the Feroz Shah Kotla Stadium in Delhi as the tournament will conclude on October 27.

Here are the squads:

India A: Dinesh Karthik (captain and wicketkeeper), Prithvi Shaw, Anmolpreet Singh, AR Easwaran, Ankit Bawne, Nitish Rana, Karun Nair, Krunal Pandya, R Ashwin, Shreyas Gopal, S Mulani, Mohammed Siraj, Dhawal Kulkarni, Siddarth Kaul

India B: Shreyas Iyer (captain), Mayank Agarwal, Rituraj Gaekwad, PS Chopra, Hanuma Vihari, Manoj Tiwary, Ankush Bains (wicketkeeper), Rohit Rayudu, K Gowtham, Mayank Markande, S Nadeem, Deepak Chahar, Varun Aaron, Jaydev Unadkat

India C: Ajinkya Rahane (captain), Abhinav Mukund, Shubman Gill, R Samarth, Suresh Raina, Suryakumar Yadav, Ishan Kishan (wicketkeeper), Vijay Shankar, Washington Sundar, Rahul Chahar, Pappu Roy, Navdeep Saini, R Gurbani, Umar Nazir

[interaction id=”5bc5ffc578f075fbbdd86f16″]

Get the latest News and updates from all the cricketing action, Match Predictions, Fantasy Cricket Tips and lots more on