Deodhar Trophy, 2019-20 – Statistical Preview

Deodhar Trophy, 2019-20 – Statistical Preview

Key stats and numbers of the players who are going to be part of the Deodhar Trophy 2019-20.

Mayank Agarwal
Mayank Agarwal. (Photo by Ashley Allen/Getty Images)

The Deodhar Trophy for the 2019-20 season is set to begin on Thursday involving the top performers from the recently concluded Vijay Hazare Trophy. The JSCA Stadium in Ranchi, which hosted the recent Test match between India and South Africa, will also host this 3-team tournament spread over five days. India A and India B, led by Hanuma Vihari and Parthiv Patel respectively, will be in action in the tournament opener. The India C team will play under the captaincy of young Shubman Gill.

Key stats and numbers of the players who are going to be part of the Deodhar Trophy 2019-20:

3 – Both Vishnu Vinod (India A) and Yashasvi Jaiswal (India B) scored three centuries apiece during the recently concluded Vijay Hazare trophy. Vinod scored those three tons in eight innings he played in the tournament. He batted 16 times in List A cricket before this but never crossed the 100-run mark. Yashasvi, on the other hand, batted five times for Mumbai in what was his maiden List A assignment.

21 – Rush Kalaria claimed 21 from 11 games recent Vijay Hazare Trophy. His 21 wickets are the most by any left-arm pacer in an edition of VHT and the 2nd most by any left-arm bowler behind Shahbaz Nadeem’s 24 scalps from 2018/19 season.

Kalaria’s 21 wickets are also the joint-most for Gujarat in a tournament. Jasprit Bumrah also took 21 wickets in the 2015/16 edition of VHT which fetched him a maiden call-up into the Indian team.

33.17 – Difference between Nitish Rana’s batting average and bowling average in the Vijay Hazare Trophy 2019/20. The Delhi all-rounder scored 311 runs from 8 innings during the tournament at an average of 51.83. The India B player in the upcoming Deodhar bagged 12 wickets with the ball at an average of 18.66.

65.79 – Mayank Agarwal has a batting average of 65.79 in List A cricket since the start of 2018. The Karnataka opener amassed 1842 runs from 31 innings in this format with seven hundreds and seven fifties.

However, in Deodhar Trophy, Mayank scored only 334 runs at an average of 27.83. He scored only one fifty from 12 innings in this competition. Mayank will be opening the innings for India C in this tournament.

72.75 – Hanuma Vihari averages 72.75 representing India B team across the previous two editions of the Deodhar Trophy. He scored 291 runs in six innings across the two tournaments and struck three fifties.

Vihari aggregated 1913 runs from 42 List A innings since the start of 2017 at an average of 53.13. He smashed four tons and 11 half-centuries during this period. The Andhra batsman will be leading India A team this time.

102.5 – Kedar Jadhav’s batting average of 102.5 in the Deodhar Trophy is the highest for any player who has batted in five or more innings. Jadhav amassed 615 runs in 11 innings in this competition with help of a hundred and six fifties. Kedar is slotted in the middle-order for India B team.

609Devdutt Padikkal’s 609 runs during the Vijay Hazare Trophy 2019-20 are the 2nd most by any player in a VHT edition. Mayank Agarwal aggregated 733 runs during the 2017/18 season.

981 – Parthiv Patel needs 19 more runs to become only the 9th player with 1000 runs in Deodhar Trophy. He scored 981 runs from 35 innings at an average of 28.85 with a century and six fifties. Parthiv is the most capped player in this competition having featured in 37 matches.

His 46 catches are also the most for any keeper in Deodhar while his 20 stumpings are the 2nd behind Saba Karim’s 21. The veteran keeper-batsman will be leading the India B team.

[interaction id=”5da47ec85b2f78869081fe3f”]