Dr. DY Patil T20 Cup 2017, Day 1 Review: Hardik Pandya, Pujara shine with the bat

Dr. DY Patil T20 Cup 2017, Day 1 Review: Hardik Pandya, Pujara shine with the bat

Hardik Pandya
Hardik Pandya. (Photo Source: BCCI)

The much awaited popular Dr. DY Patil T20 Cup 2017 went underway on Wednesday. As expected, the edition was being tipped to be bigger and better than its previous editions. This was largely being said because of the participation of big names in the league this year. The likes of Yuvraj Singh and Suresh Raina had signed up for the tournament edition of 2017. However, it was the other Indian duo that ruled the roost on the day 1 of the tournament.

The T20 tournament will continue to entertain in the next 11 days with the finals expected to be played on January 15. The inaugural day saw Cheteshwar Pujara and Hardik Pandya shine with the bat for their sides. Hardik Pandya scored a belligerent 95 that sets his case right for the upcoming limited overs series against England. Pujara, known to be a Test veteran, surprised everyone with a free flowing ton.

Here is the day 1 round up of Dr. DY Patil T20 Cup 2017:

Air India v Indian Oil – Pujara’s ton guides Indian Oil to 10-wicket win

A host of big names of Indian domestic circuit were on display in the match between Air India and Indian Oil. Air India kickstarted their innings in brisk fashion as Madhya Pradesh wicket-keeper Naman Ojha and Manvinder Bisla of Kolkata Knight Riders fame put on 84 runs for the opening stand. Ojha missed out on his fifty by 3 runs and it was Yuvraj Singh who walked in to bat. Bisla went on to score a fifty and was eventually dismissed on 67.

His efforts combined with Yuvraj’s unbeaten 43 off 29 balls helped Air India post 180/4 in their stipulated 20 overs. Indian Oil had a stiff ask in hand but their openers, Ravikant Shukla and Cheteshwar Pujara, had some other plans. They made a mockery of Air India bowling as they took their side to a 10-wicket win. Pujara remained unbeaten on a brilliant 108 off mere 73 balls (14 fours, 2 sixes) and Shukla scored a classy 64.

Brief Scores:

Air India 180/4 in 20 overs (Manvinder Bisla 67, Naman Ojha 47, Yuvraj Singh 43*)

Indian Oil 181/0 in 18.2 overs (Cheteshwar Pujara 108*, Ravikant Shukla 64*)

Jain Irrigation v DY Patil (B) – DY Patil (B) won by 7 wickets

Jain Irrigation marshalled to a total of 165/7 in their 20 overs riding on fifty by Urvesh Patel. Patel remained unbeaten on 68 and was supported by Jay Bista who scored 37. DY Patil (B), in their response, went on to chase the target with 22 balls to spare.

Shashank Singh’s unbeaten 82 runs off 48 balls was studded with 8 sixes and that was enough to guide his side to a win. Mumbai batsman Kevin Almeida and former Mumbai batsman Sarfaraz Khan gave notable contributions of 22 and 38 respectively.

Brief Scores:

Jain Irrigation 165/7 in 20 overs (Urvesh Patel 68*, Shashank Singh 2-24)

DY Patil (B) 167/3 in 16.2 overs (Shashank Singh 82*, Sarfaraz Khan 38)

CAG v State Bank of Travancore – CAG won the low scoring match by 22 runs

The match between CAG and State Bank of Travancore was a low scoring affair. It looked grim for CAG to win from a point when they had posted a mere 130/8 on board. It was Bervesh Shetty’s lone fighting 63 off 55 balls that helped CAG to reach the decent total.

However, their bowlers did not let them down. Domestic performers Ishwar Pandey and Rituraj Singh scalped two wickets each as SBT could score just 108 in their stipulated 20 overs and thereby losing the match by 22 runs.

Brief Scores:

CAG – 130/8 in 20 overs (Shetty 63, Ankur Julka 30, CP Shahid 2-8)

State Bank of Travancore – 108/8 in 20 overs (Vincent Gomez 29, Ishwar Pandey 2-14, Rituraj Singh 2-20)

Reliance (1) v RBI Sports World – Pandya guides Reliance to a 43 run win

Reliance (1) boasted on big names like Hardik Pandya, Ambati Rayudu and Rishabh Pant in its lineup. The match started with Rishabh Pant and Jitesh Sharma opening the innings for Reliance (1). Pant was expected to call the shots on the day but was outclassed by team India spinner Amit Mishra. Mishra then got rid of Sharma as well. It was down to Hardik Pandya and Ambati Rayudu to take things in hand from thereon. Both players smashed their fifties, Pandya being more aggressive one.

Rayudu was dismissed after scoring 53 off 44 balls. Pandya continued to bat along and missed out on a century by just 5 runs. Pandya struck 8 fours and 5 sixes in his 54-ball 95 as Reliance (1) finished with 170/5 on the board. RBI were never in the run chase and could score just 127/7 in their response to the target. Haryana leggie Yuzvendra Chahal bagged 2 wickets as Kulwant Singh was the pick of the bowlers with 3 wickets to his name.

Brief Scores:

Reliance (1) – 170/5 in 20 overs (Hardik Pandya 95, Ambati Rayudu 53, Amit Mishra 2-11)

RBI Sports World – 127/7 in 20 overs (Debrath Kumar 29, Kulwant Singh 3/24, Yuzi Chahal 2-19)