ECB makes changes to their England squads for the upcoming series after Alex Hales' omission

ECB makes changes to their England squads for the upcoming series after Alex Hales’ omission

Hales' name was earlier withdrawn from all the squads by ECB.

James Vince
James Vince. (Photo by Laurence Griffiths/Getty Images)

England and Wales Cricket Board (ECB) came down hard at Alex Hales after his drug test came out positive. He has already been banned for 21 days and to add to it, the batsman was also dropped from all the England squads including the World Cup side which is to be played at home. England is set to play a one-off ODI against Ireland and a T20I against Pakistan before the five-match ODI series starts against the Men in Green.

The ECB now has made a few changes to their squad for these matches. James Vince who was originally drafted into the side to play only the one-off ODI and T20I, has also been included to the 17-man squad which will play the ODIs against Pakistan. And Ben Duckett and Dawid Malan will be part of the earlier assignments now as the squad changes were confirmed by ECB on their official website.

Vince to be in World Cup squad?

James Vince has shown some excellent form in the ongoing domestic One-Day Cup and he has been rewarded by the selectors. He now has a great chance to make it to the final World Cup squad. However, for that to happen, he has to replicate similar performances against Pakistan.

He might get only a few chances to prove his mettle and should grab his chance with both the hands. This is also a brilliant chance for Duckett and Malan to make a statement. While the only ODI against Ireland will be played on May 3, the Pakistan-England T20I is scheduled on May 7. The ODI series between the two teams will commence on May 8.

Here are the updated squads:

13-man squad for ODI against Ireland and T20I against Pakistan: Eoin Morgan (c), Jofra Archer, Tom Curran, Joe Denly, Ben Duckett, Ben Foakes, Chris Jordan, Dawid Malan, Liam Plunkett, Adil Rashid, Joe Root, James Vince, David Willey.

17-man squad for ODI series against Pakistan: Eoin Morgan (c), Moeen Ali, Jofra Archer, Jonny Bairstow, Jos Buttler, Tom Curran, Joe Denly, Chris Jordan, Liam Plunkett, Adil Rashid, Joe Root, Jason Roy, Ben Stokes, James Vince, David Willey, Chris Woakes, Mark Wood.

[interaction id=”5cc6ba522ea93c91660b5af7″]

Get the latest Cricket News and updates from the Indian Premier League (IPL)Match PredictionsFantasy Cricket Tips and lots more on