England name 14-man squad for Ireland ODIs; Reece Topley, David Willey earn recalls

The three-match ODI series between Ireland and England is set to commence on July 30.

England. (Photo by ANESH DEBIKY/AFP via Getty Images)

View : 4.4K

2 Min Read

Get every cricket updates! Follow us on

England have named a 14-man squad for the upcoming three-match ODI series against Ireland. As expected, the players involved in the ongoing Test series against the West Indies aren’t considered for selection. Reece Topley has been recalled to the ODI team after more than four years while David Willey, who was dropped for Jofra Archer just before the World Cup last year, has also returned.

However, Phil Salt missed out on selection despite smashing a 58-ball ton against Ireland in the warm-up game on Sunday. He is not even the part of reserves, the slots which have been by the uncapped trio of Richard Gleeson, Lewis Gregory, and Liam Livingstone. They will stay with the team right through the series.

As far as the squad is concerned, Moeen Ali was named vice-captain last week for this series, while Eoin Morgan continues to lead the side. Jonny Bairstow, Tom Curran, Liam Dawson, Adil Rashid, Jason Roy, and James Vince are their fellow World Cup winners in the squad.

Reece Topley returns after playing 2016 T20 World Cup

Reece Topley looks set to play his first match after last playing for England in March during the T20 World Cup in 2016 in India. His back problems then kept him out of action for a while before undergoing surgery in 2018. He impressed playing for Sussex on a short-term deal last season. He was also their leading wicket-taker in the T20 Blast.

David Willey will also be eyeing to seal his place in the ODI side after missing out on the final World Cup squad by a whisker last year. Matt Parkinson was ruled out of the contention before selecting after he sprained his ankle last week while Chris Jordan missed the original cut after his elbow surgery. Meanwhile, this series presents another opportunity for Sam Billings to showcase talent, having last played an ODI back in 2018.

The only player to be part of the squad from the Test series is Joe Denly. Even he has joined the white-ball group after not being considered for selection in the third Test. 

England’s ODI squad for Ireland series: Eoin Morgan (C), Moeen Ali, Jonny Bairstow, Tom Banton, Sam Billings, Tom Curran, Liam Dawson, Joe Denly, Saqib Mahmood, Adil Rashid, Jason Roy, Reece Topley, James Vince, David Willey.

Reserves: Richard Gleeson, Lewis Gregory, Liam Livingstone