Explosive Windies batsman Evin Lewis declines central contract

Explosive Windies batsman Evin Lewis declines central contract

These contracts will end on June 30, 2019.

Evin Lewis
Evin Lewis. (Photo Source: Twitter)

The problems between the Windies cricketers and the cricket board have persisted for quite a long time now. As a result, several cricketers from these islands have been seen declining the central contracts. On Monday, a new entrant, Evin Lewis has joined the list of players who have rejected the central contract.

Cricket West Indies (CWI), while confirming the list of cricketers who were awarded the contracts revealed that the explosive left-hander rejected the deal. In his short stint with the team, Lewis has made rapid strides in international cricket and evolved as a crucial member of the side. He is known to be one of the fiercest hitters of the cricket ball. Hence, he also earned an IPL contract with the Mumbai Indians in 2018.

By declining the central contract, Lewis has now joined the likes of Chris Gayle, Andre Russell, Kieron Pollard, Dwayne Bravo, Darren Bravo, and Sunil Narine. All these players have chosen T20 leagues around the world over the national duties. It seems Evin Lewis could also follow the footpaths of these players in the future.

Four players retained for all formats

Windies ODI and Test skipper Jason Holder, batsman Shai Hope and pacers Kemar Roach and Alzarri Joseph were given the all-format contract. While eight players were awarded the red-ball contract, only three of them fetched the white-ball contract.

Also, to align all the players to the same period, the board has decided to backdate the contracts to July 1, 2018. These contracts will end on June 30, 2019.

“All Windies and Franchise players are now contracted from the 1st of July to the 30th of June, with their performances assessed from the 1st of April to the 31st of March. This will allow for a more efficient process of reviewing, renewing and awarded contracts within West Indies professional cricket and give everyone at least three months to plan for the season ahead,” Chief Executive Officer, Johnny Grave said.

All-format retainers: Jason Holder, Alzarri Joseph, Shai Hope and Kemar Roach.Red-ball retainers: Devendra Bishoo, Kraigg Brathwaite, Roston Chase, Miguel Cummins, Shane Dowrich, Shannon Gabriel, Shimron Hetmyer and Kieron Powell.

White-ball retainers: Carlos Brathwaite, Ashley Nurse, and Rovman Powell.Development retainers: Sunil Ambris, Keemo Paul and Raymon Reifer.

Windies Women retainers: Merissa Aguilleira, Raniece Boyce, Shemaine Campbelle, Shamilia Connell, Deandra Dottin, Afy Fletcher, Hayley Matthews, Anisa Mohammed, Chedean Nation, Akeira Peters, Shakera Selman, and Stafanie Taylor


[interaction id=”5bb0acad72e66564c57d47d6″]

For more news and developments, stay tuned on CricTracker.com.