IPL 2023: Fastest fifties in IPL history

Sometimes, a batter can change his gears at an exceptional speed leaving no chance for the opposition to control the flow of runs.

View : 109.4K

97 Min Read

Yashasvi Jaiswal
Yashasvi Jaiswal. (Photo Source: IPL/BCCI)

IPL is a format where the game can change in very few overs and it becomes very difficult for teams to recover if they fall behind too far. Sometimes, a batsman can change his gears at an exceptional speed leaving no chance for the opposition to control the flow of runs. 

IPL 2023: Fastest fifties in IPL history

Youngster Yashasvi Jaiswal created an all-time IPL record in the 56th match of 2023 IPL as he smashed a 13-ball half-century against Kolkata Knight Riders. He ended up unbeaten on 98 off 47, with 13 fours and five sixes.

Jaiswal bettered Pat Cummins' record from the 14th match of the 2022 IPL edition. He smashed 14-ball half-century against Mumbai Indians (MI) while playing for Kolkata Knight Riders. It was some exceptional hitting from Australia’s Test captain on the day as he ended up unbeaten on 56 off just 15 deliveries with four fours and six maximums even as he smashed Daniel Sams for a massive 35 runs in a single over.

Further, Indian opener KL Rahul also scored a half-century in 14 balls against the Delhi team in IPL 2018 game. Rahul hit 51 runs off 16 balls in this innings with the help of six fours and four sixes.  The Punjab team chased down the target of 167 runs in 18.5 overs winning the match by six wickets. 

The record for fastest fifty in IPL that Rahul had broken in his innings was held jointly by Yusuf Pathan and Sunil Narine. In an IPL 2014 game, Yusuf Pathan played one of the most stunning T20 innings of all time when Kolkata Knight Riders were chasing 161 and needed to do it in 15.2 overs to reach the second spot in the points table to get two chances of reaching the final of the tournament.

Yusuf smashed 72 runs off only 22 balls and reached 50 runs in only 15 balls during his innings. It was Yusuf’s unbelievable hitting that KKR achieved the total in 14.2 overs, and attained the second position. 

In the IPL 2017 game, KKR were chasing 159 and Chris Lynn and Sunil Narine completely demolished the RCB bowling attack in a 100-run partnership in only six overs. Narine slammed his half-century in only 15 balls, the then joint-fastest. KKR chased down the required total in 15.1 overs and won the match by six wickets.

Explosive West Indian batter Nicholas Pooran is joint-third with Yusuf and Sunil for smashing the fastest half-century in just 15 deliveries in the Indian Premier League (IPL). The swashbuckling batter, playing for Lucknow Super Giants (LSG), achieved the feat against Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB) in Match no. 15 of IPL 2023 in Bangalore.

Batting first, the Challengers set a massive target of 213 for the Super Giants and Pooran's innings just took the game away from the home side. Coming in to bat at no.6 after the fall of Marcus Stoinis's wicket at 10.4 overs, Pooran hammered 62 off just 19 with the help of four fours and seven towering maximums at a deadly strike rate of 326.32. Notably, Stoinis also smashed 65 off 30, and courtesy of the duo, LSG chased down the target on the final ball of the match.

If the all-time non-hundred IPL innings of players are listed out, Suresh Raina’s tremendous knock played in IPL 2014 qualifier may end up on the top. In this crucial encounter, CSK were chasing a huge total of 227 runs to ensure a place in the final. CSK were off to a flyer as they smashed 100 runs in the powerplay to put KXIP on the backfoot. Among these 100 runs, 87 were scored only by Raina.

However, he got run out on the first ball of the seventh over leaving his team’s hopes in tatters. Raina slammed a fifty in only 16 balls and hit 12 fours and six sixes in total. CSK could manage 202/7 in their 20 overs and lost the clash by 24 runs. 

The most expensive player in the mega auction of 2022, Mumbai Indian’s Ishan Kishan also slammed a blistering fifty in just 16 balls in last year’s edition against Sunrisers Hyderabad in Abu Dhabi. Mumbai batted first and Ishan scored 84 off 32 balls which included 11 fours and four maximums.

IPL Fastest Half Centuries

Player Runs Balls for Fifty Against Year
Yashasvi Jaiswal 98* 13 KKR 2023
KL Rahul 51 14 DC 2018
Pat Cummins 56* 14 MI 2022
Yusuf Pathan 72 15 SRH 2014
Nicholas Pooran 62 15 RCB 2023
Sunil Narine 54 15 RCB 2017
Suresh Raina 87 16 PBKS 2014
Ishan Kishan 84 16 SRH 2021
Kieron Pollard 51* 17 KKR 2016
Chris Gayle 175* 17 PWI 2013
Sunil Narine 50 17 RCB  2018
Hardik Pandya 91 17 KKR 2019
Adam Gilchrist 85 17 Deccan Chargers 2009
Ishan Kishan 62 17 KKR 2018
Chris Morris 82 17 GL 2016
Nicholas Pooran 77 17 SRH 2020
Kieron Pollard 87* 17 CSK 2021

Fastest fifties in IPL 2023:

No. Player Runs Balls for fifty Opposition Ground
1 Yashasvi Jaiswal 98* 13 KKR Eden Gardens
2 Nicholas Pooran 62 15 RCB Chinnaswamy Stadium
3 Ajinkya Rahane 61 19 MI Wankhede stadium
4  Jason Roy 61 19 KKR Eden Gardens
5 Cameron Green 50* 20 SRH Wankhede stadium
6 Wriddhiman Saha  81 20 LSG Narendra Modi Stadium
7 Shardul Thakur 68 20 RCB Eden Gardens
Jos Buttler
54 20 SRH Rajiv Gandhi International Stadium
9 Kyle Mayers 54 20 LSG IS Bindra Cricket Stadium, Mohali
Shivam Dube
50 20 KKR Eden Gardens
11  Vijay shankar 63 21 KKR Narendra Modi Stadium
12 Kyle Mayers 53 21 CSK MA Chidambaram Stadium, Chennai
13 Ishan Kishan 58 21 KKR Wankhede Stadium

*Last updated on 30th May 2023 

Get every cricket updates! Follow us on:


Download Our App

For a better experience: Download the CricTracker app from the IOS and Google Play Store