Finals of the Blind Cricket World Cup to be held in Pakistan

Pakistan have confirmed that they will host the finals of the Blind Cricket World Cup schedule to being in 2018.

Pakistan News
Pakistan Blind Cricket Team. (Photo Source: Twitter)

The fifth edition of the Blind Cricket World Cup is set to commence in 2018. The Pakistan Blind Cricket Board (PBCB) announced that the final of the World Cup along with a few other league games will be played in Pakistan.

The tournament will be jointly hosted by Dubai and Pakistan as Chairman of PBCB: Syed Sultan Shah said on Monday while talking to APP.


“Besides Pakistan, seven other teams would be participating in the World Cup including India, Sri Lanka, Bangladesh, Nepal, Australia, South Africa and West Indies,” he said.

Sultan further added: “Asian teams India, Sri Lanka, Bangladesh and Nepal have confirmed playing matches in Pakistan while matches with European countries including Australia, South Africa and West Indies will be played in Dubai.”

International sport has taken a hit in Pakistan ever since a terror attack on Sri Lanka’s Team bus in March 2009. Hosting a Blind World Cup might just stimulate the return of cricket at least in the nation.

“This would help pave way for restoration of international sports in the country,” said Sultan. “We are proud to host the World Cup and hopefully it would boost the effort for return of international cricket to the country.”

Syed also confirmed that he has escalated a request to the Prime Minister for financial assistance for the smooth functioning of the tournament.

“We’ve written a letter to the Prime Minister in which we have requested for financial assistance and for the early visa process of the international teams touring here,” he said.

India are the defending champions as they were crowned winners of the last edition of the World Cup in 2014. Pakistan is a strong side in this format and have won 2 titles so far – once in 2002 and then in 2006.

The rules of Blind Cricket are based on the laws of cricket. The stumps and the ball are bigger than normal size for the partial and fully blind players to sight them.

World Blind Cricket Council (WBCC), established in 1996, introduced the T20 World Cup too in 2012. India has won the two titles so far, recently in February this year, defeating Pakistan on both occasions.