Five batsmen who can break Chris Gayle's record for the fastest hundred in IPL history

Five batsmen who can break Chris Gayle’s record for the fastest hundred in IPL history

The Universe Boss amassed the record back in 2013 against the Pune Warriors.

Jos Buttler
Jos Buttler. (Photo: Twitter)

The introduction of T20 format in international cricket and subsequently in franchise cricket has witnessed records getting breached at an unprecedented rate. It all started with the Indian Premier League (IPL) in the year 2008 from where all other nations began formulating their own T20 competition.

From the time franchise cricket started picking up in popularity, men from the Caribbean Islands have proactively become part of almost every tournament. Notably, Chris Gayle had become and is still one of the players who is most in demand when it comes to the shortest format. There is hardly any batting record that the swashbuckling left-hander doesn’t own.

The Jamaican has found his bulk of success through the IPL, having won the Orange cap in the year 2011 and 2012. Gayle got his highest score of 175 in the year 2013 against the Pune Warriors at the M. Chinnaswamy Stadium in Bengaluru. During his record-breaking knock, the left-hander sent several records tumbling, including the fastest T20 century ever (off just 30 deliveries). While several batsmen have played some whirlwind knocks, none have conquered this record.

Below are the five batsmen one of who could score a century faster than 30 balls, breaking Chris Gayle’s record:-

Rohit Sharma

Rohit Sharma
Rohit Sharma. (Photo by Tharaka Basnayaka/NurPhoto via Getty Images)

India’s limited-overs vice-captain Rohit Sharma is one of the most accomplished T20 batsmen with all the shots in the book. Since getting promoted to the opening position in the national team, the 32-year old has accumulated runs at an alarming rate even for his franchise, Mumbai Indians in the IPL.

When it comes to T20 internationals, Rohit is the owner of numerous records. The Mumbai batsman has the maximum runs among all the batsmen in the slam-bang format and is the only batter to score four T20 international hundreds. Further, he holds the joint record for the fastest century in T20 internationals off 35 balls along with David Miller and Sudesh Wikramasekara.

This is not all. Rohit has hit the maximum sixes by any batsman in T20Is, smashing 115 sixes in 101 games. He is also the most capped player for India in the shortest format. With plenty of records and experience under his belt, it seems to be a matter of time till the flamboyant right-hander overtakes Gayle’s record of hammering the fastest century in the IPL.