Former Indian cricketer Irfan Pathan picks his T20I XI of the year 2020

Former Indian cricketer Irfan Pathan picks his T20I XI of the year 2020

Kane Williamson got named as skipper of Irfan Pathan's T20I XI of 2020

Irfan Pathan
Irfan Pathan. (Photo Source: Twitter)

The year 2020 didn’t go as per the expectations as the world got shook by the COVID-19 pandemic and all the cricketing action came to halt. There was no action on 22 yards for as long as four months, but it kicked off with bilateral series in England amid strict bio-bubbles. Even though there was limited action in the year 2020, some cricketers made their names shine in the international format. In the same light, Indian former all-rounder Irfan Pathan recently named his best T20I XI of 2020.

Irfan Pathan was up for an exclusive chat with CricTracker, where he named his best XI of the year 2020 in the T20I format. He started his list with India’s ace batsman KL Rahul who was just in splendid form in 2020. Apart from being splendid for India, he led his franchise KXIP also too well in IPL 2020. Along with Rahul, Pathan went with another T20I specialist Jos Buttler for the opening slot.

Kane Williamson becomes skipper of Irfan Pathan’s T20 XI of 2020

Indian skipper and world-class batsman Virat Kohli came at no 3 position in Irfan Pathan’s esteemed list. Pathan went with Pakistan’s hero Babar Azam at fourth place. Azam has levelled up the game of men in green with his ace batting skills in recent years. Pathan added that it would be slightly down the order, but his no. 5 spot would be filled by New Zealand’s legend Kane Williamson. Williamson would also lead his T20I team of 2020.

The no 6-all-rounder spot went to England’s great Ben Stokes, and no.7 was acquired by Caribbean star hitter Kieron Pollard. Pollard was in stunning form during IPL 2020, where he also handled the skipper’s duties in Rohit Sharma’s absence. Starting the bowling section, Lungi Ngidi of SA became Irfan’s first choice. He added that he wanted to go with Yuzvendra Chahal at no 9-position, but Adam Zampa has better figures. So, he would take the 9th slot.

Any bowling section looks incomplete without Jasprit Bumrah, and he rightfully grabbed the 10th spot in Irfan’s list. The final 11th spot in the list was sealed by New Zealand’s star spinner Lockie Ferguson.

Irfan Pathan’s T20I XI of 2020