Four uncapped players named in Australia ’s squad for Third Test

Four uncapped players named in Australia ’s squad for Third Test

Matthew Renshaw
Matthew Renshaw of the Bulls. (Photo by Matt King/Getty Images)

Australia has been completely outplayed in the 3-match Test series, after comprehensively losing the first two Test matches. Quite a few players have been cleaned out of the squad with 4 uncapped players making their way into the squad in the likes of Peter Handscomb, Matt Renshaw, Nic Maddinson and Chadd Sayers.

The 12-man squad featured 6 changes with wicket-keeper batsman Matthew Wade and pace bowler Jackson Bird included in the squad. Handscomb made his way into the squad on the back of a double-century in the latest round of Sheffield Shield matches.

Speaking about Matt Renshaw’s inclusion, interim chairman of selectors Trevor Hohns said, “Matt has established himself in a short period of time as one of the best young opening bats in the country. His form is currently very good and we see him as a very exciting prospect for the future.”

Queensland opener Renshaw is likely to open the innings along with David Warner. Sayers will look forward to making his home Test debut at the Adelaide Oval.

Also Read – New Zealand v Pakistan, 1st Test Review: Hosts secure an easy win

“Peter’s form over the last couple seasons, and with Australia A, has been very consistent. He has a good all-around game and we think he is the type of player who could succeed at the next level,” Hohns added.

Matthew Wade is back in the Australian squad since 2013, as a replacement for the axed Peter Nevill.

“Nic is an exciting and talented young player and we feel now is the ideal time for him to be involved with the Australian team. He has the ability to break the game open and we think he will flourish in this environment,” he concluded.

Also Read – Jonny Bairstow hopeful of tackling Ravi Ashwin in the fourth innings

Australia Squad for 3rd Test: Steve Smith (C), Dave Warner (VC), Jackson Bird, Peter Handscomb, Josh Hazlewood, Usman Khawaja, Nic Maddinson, Nathan Lyon, Matt Renshaw, Chadd Sayers, Mitchell Starc, Matthew Wade.