Global T20 Canada League - Full Squads announced

Global T20 Canada League – Full Squads announced

6 teams will participate in the competition this year.

Steve Smith
CAPE TOWN, SOUTH AFRICA – MARCH 27: Australian international cricketer, Steve Smith is seen as the Australian Cricket team arrive at Cape Town International Airport on March 27, 2018 in Cape Town, South Africa. (Photo by Brenton Geach/Gallo Images/Getty Images)

The first edition of the Global T20 Canada League is all set to roll out this month. The tournament is set to be a breakthrough event in the history of cricket in Canada. This comes as an ideal opportunity for the Canadian players to rub shoulders with some international greats. The first match of the tournament will be played on June 28. As many as 6 teams will feature in the inaugural edition of the competition.

Five out of these teams will be franchise based side, while one team will represent Cricket West Indies. All the matches will take place at the Maple Leaf Cricket Club which is situated on the outskirts of Toronto. The final match of the season will be played on July 16. The complete squads of five teams were finalised recently. Only Cricket West Indies representation is yet to be announced.

The Edmonton Royals showed great interest in the Pakistani players at the player drafts. They snapped 6 players from Pakistan. Shahid Afridi is the marquee player in their side. Meanwhile, the Vancouver Knights have bagged the services of Chris Gayle in the competition. The Global T20 Canada League will also see the banned duo of Steve Smith and David Warner make a comeback.

Warner has been picked up by the Winnipeg Hawks in the season. On the other hand, Steve Smith is set to play for the Toronto Nationals. Here are the Global T20 Canada League Squads:

Edmonton Royals: Shahid Afridi, Chris Lynn, Luke Ronchi, Mohammad Irfan, Sohail Tanvir, Christiaan Jonker, Wayne Parnell, Asif Ali, Hasan Khan, Agha Salman, Shaiman Anwar, Ammar Khalid, Satsimranjit Dhindsa, Ahmed Raza, Simon Pervez, Abraash Khan.

Coach: Mohammad Akram

Montreal Tigers: Lasith Malinga, Sunil Narine, Thisara Perera, Mohammad Hafeez, Denesh Ramdin, Sandeep Lamichhane, Sikandar Raza, Dasun Shanaka, Isuru Udana, George Worker, Najibullah Zadran, Cecil Pervez, Ibrahim Khaleel, Dillon Heyliger, Nicholas Kirton, Rayyan Pathan.

Coach: Tom Moody.

Toronto Nationals: Darren Sammy, Steve Smith, Kieron Pollard, Kamran Akmal, Hussain Talat, Rumman Raees, Nikhil Dutta, Johnson Charles, Kesrick Williams, Naved Ahmed, Nizakat Khan, Farhan Malik, Nitish Kumar, Usama Mir, Rohan Mustafa, Mohammad Umair Ghani.

Coach: Phil Simmons.

Vancouver Knights: Chris Gayle, Andre Russell, Evin Lewis, Tim Southee, Chadwick Walton, Fawad Ahmed, Babar Hayat, Sheldon Cottrell, Saad Bin Zafar, Ruvindu Gunasekera, Srimantha Wijeratne, Kamau Leverock, Steven Jacobs, Salman Nazar, Rassie van der Dussen, Jeremy Gordon.

Coach: Donovan Miller.

Winnipeg Hawks: Dwayne Bravo, David Miller, David Warner, Lendl Simmons, Darren Bravo, Fidel Edwards, Rayad Emrit, Ben McDermott, Ali Khan, Hamza Tariq, Junaid Siddiqui, Tion Webster, Rizwan Cheema, Hiral Patel, Mark Deyal, Kyle Phillip.

Coach: Waqar Younis.

For the latest cricket news, follow CricTracker.