ICC announces T20 World Cup Qualifier 2019 team of the tournament; PNG’s Assad Vala named captain

Netherlands won the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup Qualifier 2019 title.

Netherlands. (Photo Source: Twitter)

The Netherlands defeated Papua New Guinea by a margin of seven wickets and sealed the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup Qualifier 2019 title. And now, the apex body has released the team of the tournament in which they have picked best 11 cricketers from all the teams played in the tournament.

In a close final, PNG posted a total of 128 runs and Lega Siaka was their top scorer with 39 runs. Also, Sese Bau (29 in 29 balls) and Jason Kila (27 in 11 balls) gave valuable contributions with the bat whereas the Netherlands went past the target in the 19th over with one over remaining. The Netherlands batsmen looked in top form because of which they didn’t find any difficulty during the chase.


A four-member panel picks the team

A panel of four members that consists of former Scottish player Preston Mommsen, Natalie Germanos, Peter Della Penna and ICC representative Ben Leaver picked the player of the tournament as well as the team of the tournament.

As per the batting order, the panel picked Jatinder Singh, who is the third-highest run-scorer of the tournament, alongside Paul Stirling from Ireland in order to open the innings. Moreover, Assad Vala was named as the skipper for giving brilliant performances with the bat as well as with the ball (Runs-197, Wickets-10) and Gerhard Erasmus as the vice-captain of the team (Runs in the qualifiers – 268).

Other players that made into the team are Ryan ten Doeschate (Netherlands), Matt Cross (Scotland), JJ Smit (Namibia), Roelof van der Merwe – (Netherlands), Norman Vanua (PNG), Paul van Meekeren (Netherlands), Bilal Khan (Oman) and Bernard Scholtz (Namibia-12th man).

A total of 14 teams took part in the Men’s T20 World Cup Qualifier 2019 organized by ICC. All the teams were divided into two groups. And top three teams from both the groups played in the playoffs. The teams that successfully qualified for the mega event are Papua New Guinea, Netherlands, Namibia, Ireland, Oman and the United Arab Emirates.

Here is the Team from ICC

Video Quiz: Eoin Morgan’s century vs Afghanistan