ICC Champions Trophy Winners List From 1998 to 2017

In 2021, the ICC announced the comeback of the Champions Trophy to be held in 2025 and 2029.

View : 71.7K

4 Min Read

Pakistan Champions Trophy
Pakistan lift the trophy after winning the ICC Champions Trophy final. (Photo by Steven Paston/PA Images via Getty Images)

Champions Trophy which is also called the “Mini World Cup” was introduced by the ICC in 1998. Initially, it was inaugurated as the ICC Knockout Tournament to be played in a span of four years. The idea was to raise funds in non-Test playing nations with the first two editions being held in Kenya and Bangladesh. However, with its commercial success, the tournament was later held in major cricket nations such as England and India.

Since the 2009 edition, it was decided that only the top 8 counties in ICC ODI rankings will take part in it. The cut-off for rankings was six months prior to the start of the trophy. The tournament was scrapped after the 2017 edition with the idea of keeping only one global tournament for each of three formats. However, in the year 2021, the ICC announced the comeback of the Champions Trophy to be held in 2025 and 2029. In this article, we will be listing out winners of each edition of the Champions Trophy (CT) held so far.

1998 – South Africa

The first edition of the Champions Trophy was held in Bangladesh with a total of 9 teams taking part in it. The final match was held between South Africa and West Indies at Bangabandhu National Stadium, Dhaka. West Indies scored 245 runs with the help of a century from Philo Wallace. In response, the Proteas team achieved victory in 47 overs by four wickets.

2000 – New Zealand

The second edition held in Kenya consisted of 11 teams with the final being played between India and New Zealand in Nairobi. India posted a total of 264/6 with captain Sourav Ganguly playing a 117-run knock. In the chase, India were cruising to victory having taken 5 wickets of the Kiwi team for 132 runs. However, Chris Cairns who came to bat at number 5 scored a magnificent century winning the game for his side.

2002 – India and Sri Lanka

The third edition was hosted by England and featured 12 teams. The final between India and Sri Lanka was held in Colombo. Sri Lanka scored 222/7 in 50 overs with the help of the fifties from Mahela Jayawardene and Russel Arnold. However, rain disrupted the Indian innings and even after the reserve day, only 8.4 overs of the innings could be completed. Eventually, India and Sri Lanka were declared as joint-winners.

2004 – West Indies

This edition was held in England with 12 teams taking part in it. The final between England and West Indies was held at The Oval, London. England were asked to bat first but barring Marcus Trescothick’s century, no other batsman could impress. They got all-out in 217 runs in 49.4 overs, with Wavell Hinds picking up 3 wickets. Chasing the total, West Indies won the game eventually by two wickets with 7 balls to spare.

2006 – Australia

This was the first edition held in India, and the final was played between Australia and West Indies at Brabourne Stadium, Mumbai. Batting first, West Indies got dismissed for only 138 runs in 30.4 overs. With rain interruptions, Australia were given a target of 116 runs in 35 overs. For them, Shane Watson and Damien Martyn played wonderful knocks to ensure an 8-wicket victory in 28.1 overs.

2009 – Australia

This edition was played with only 8 teams and was held in South Africa. In the final game against Australia, the Kiwi team could score only 200/9 in 50 overs. Chasing this, Shane Watson smashed a magnificent hundred scoring 105 runs off 129 balls. The Aussie team won their second consecutive title with a 6-wicket victory.

2013 – India

This edition was held in England, and India played the hosts in the final. With continuous rain, the final was reduced to a 20-over game. India scored 129/7 with the help of vital knocks from Virat Kohli and Ravindra Jadeja. In the chase, the home team kept losing wickets at regular intervals, and India lifted the trophy with a 5-run win.

2017 – Pakistan

This edition was again hosted in England with arch-rivals India and Pakistan clashing in the final. Pakistan were asked to bat first, and they put up a big total of 338/4 in 50 overs. For them, Fakhar Zaman scored a brilliant century while Mohammad Hafeez played a quick-fire knock as well. In response, the Indian batting line-up shattered and got dismissed for only 158 runs losing the game by 180 runs.

ICC Champions Trophy winner list

YearHost Nation(s)WinnerRunner-up
1998BangladeshSouth Africa
West Indies
2000KenyaNew ZealandIndia
2002Sri LankaSri Lanka and IndiaNone
2004EnglandWest IndiesEngland
West Indies
2009South AfricaAustralia
New Zealand
2013England and WalesIndiaEngland
2017England and WalesPakistanIndia

Get every cricket updates! Follow Us:


Download Our App

For a better experience: Download the CricTracker app from the IOS and Google Play Store