ICC confirms schedule for 2022 Women's ODI World Cup

ICC confirms schedule for 2022 Women’s ODI World Cup

A total of 31 games will be played across 31 days, with the eight teams clashing to get their hands on the coveted World Cup trophy.

Cricket World Cup trophy
Cricket World Cup trophy. (Photo Source: Twitter)

The full updated fixture list of ICC Women’s Cricket World Cup 2022 in New Zealand is out. The tournament is set to get underway on 4 March 2022 at the Bay Oval in Tauranga, with the hosts New Zealand playing West Indies.

The first set of games will also see two massive rivalries take the centre stage, with Australia taking on England at Seddon Park in Hamilton on 5 March and India facing Pakistan in Tauranga the following day.

A total of 31 games will be played across 31 days, with the eight teams clashing to get their hands on the coveted World Cup trophy. Auckland, Christchurch, Dunedin, Hamilton, Tauranga, and Wellington will be the six cities that will host the tournament.

Australia, England, South Africa, and India qualified for the event on the basis of their position in ICC Women’s Championship 2017-20 while New Zealand automatically qualified as they were hosts.

On the basis of the ODI Team Rankings, Bangladesh, Pakistan, and West Indies were the final three teams to book their berth for the World Cup after 2021 the Women’s Cricket World Cup Qualifier was called off due to a Covid-related uncertainty.

The Women’s World Cup will be played in a league format

The tournament will be played in the league format, where all eight teams will face each other once, at the end of which the top four teams will qualify for the semi-finals.

The first semi-final will be played at The Basin Reserve in Wellington on 30 March while The Hagley Oval in Christchurch will host the second semi-final (31 March) and the final (3 April). Both the semi-finals and the finals will have a reserve day in place.

The tournament will also mark the return of the women’s global event since the onset of the Covid-19 pandemic. The last global women’s event played was the ICC Women’s T20 World Cup in Australia in March 2020, which the hosts won by beating India in the final.

Here is the entire schedule of the tournament

March 4: New Zealand v West Indies, Mount Maunganui

March 5: Bangladesh v South Africa, Dunedin

March 5: Australia v England, Hamilton

March 6: Pakistan v India, Mount Maunganui

March 7: New Zealand v Bangladesh, Dunedin

March 8: Australia v Pakistan, Mount Maunganui

March 9: West Indies v England, Dunedin

March 10: New Zealand v India, Hamilton

March 11: Pakistan v South Africa, Mount Maunganui

March 12: West Indies v India, Hamilton

March 13: New Zealand v Australia, Wellington

March 14: Pakistan v Bangladesh, Hamilton

March 14: South Africa v England, Mount Maunganui

March 15: Australia v West Indies, Wellington (Basin Reserve)

March 16: England v India, Mount Maunganui

March 17: New Zealand v South Africa, Hamilton

March 18: Bangladesh v West Indies, Mount Maunganui

March 19: India v Australia, Auckland

March 20: New Zealand v England, Auckland

March 21: West Indies v Pakistan, Hamilton

March 22: South Africa v Australia, Wellington

March 22: India v Bangladesh, Hamilton

March 24: South Africa v West Indies, Wellington (Basin Reserve)

March 24: England v Pakistan, Christchurch

March 25: Bangladesh v Australia, Wellington (Basin Reserve)

March 26: New Zealand v Pakistan, Christchurch

March 27: England v Bangladesh, Wellington (Basin Reserve)

March 27: India v South Africa, Christchurch

March 30: First semi-final, Wellington (Basin Reserve)

March 31: Second semi-final, Christchurch

April 3: Final, Christchurch