ICC Women’s World T20 2018: Pakistan name the 15-member squad without a captain

Pakistan have been clubbed with India, Australia, New Zealand and Ireland in Group B.

Pakistan women's cricket team
Pakistan women’s cricket team. (Photo by Kai Schwoerer/Getty Images)

Pakistan have named their squad for the ICC Women’s World T20 scheduled in the Windies next month but haven’t named any captain officially. The 15-member squad is the same one that beat winners of ICC Women’s World T20 Qualifier Bangladesh 3-0 recently at Cox’s Bazar.

The team’s regular captain Bismah Maroof has been forced out as she underwent a sinus injury in July and vice-captain Javeria Khan led the team against Bangladesh. She has also been named as the leader for Pakistan’s limited-over series against Australia in Malaysia starting October 18. The Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB), however, is hopeful that 27-year-old Maroof will be back for the series against Australia and also the World T20 in the Windies starting November 9.


Sana Mir could also be one option for Pakistan

In case Maroof fails to make a comeback, Javeria will lead Pakistan in the two high-profile events. However, Pakistan also have the option of falling back on the former captain and the team’s senior-most player Sana Mir, Cricbuzz reported. If Maroof fails to make the World T20, it will be the second successive global event that she will miss – after the 2017 ICC World Cup in England where she was ruled out after playing just two league games. Nida Dar, another former captain, is also in the squad.

Pakistan are clubbed with arch-rivals India, Australia, New Zealand and Ireland in Group B of the tournament. They will play their first game against three-time champions Aussies on November 9 while on November 11, the Pakistan eves will lock horns with their Indian counterparts. They are yet to make their first semi-finals in the women’s World T20.

Pakistan women’s squad for World T20: Javeria Khan, Sana Mir, Nahida Khan, Muneeba Ali, Sidra Ameen, Aliya Riaz, Ayesha Zafar, Umaima Sohail, Sidra Nawaz (wk), Nashra Sandhu, Anum Amin, Nida Dar, Aiman Anwar, Natalia Pervaiz, Diana Baig

Keep following CricTracker for more news and updates.