'If this super over ends in a tie, I'm retired' - Ian Smith after India-New Zealand T20I ended in a tie

‘If this super over ends in a tie, I’m retired’ – Ian Smith after India-New Zealand T20I ended in a tie

He was in the commentary box for all the three super overs involving New Zealand in the last seven months.

Ian Smith
Ian Smith. (Photo Source: Twitter)

New Zealand and India played a humdinger of a game at the Seddon Park in Hamilton on Wednesday. The game ended in a tie which was rather surprising as the hosts had it in the bag after Ross Taylor hit the six off the first ball of the final over. But as fate had it for the Kiwis, Mohammed Shami made it a stunning comeback to pick two wickets and helped India tie the game.

This turned out to be the third tie game for New Zealand in the last seven months. They lost to England in the breathless World Cup final last year at the Lord’s thanks to the bizarre boundary count rule after the super over also ended in a tie. Moreover, the same two teams played out a tie again at the Eden Park a couple of months which New Zealand once again lost and this time again, they ended up on the wrong side with India clinching the game.

While the BlackCaps losing on all three instances is heartbreaking, another non-playing personality has been at the receiving end of all these super overs and he is none other than the former New Zealand cricketer Ian Smith. He was in the commentary box for all the three super overs and when the third T20I between India and New Zealand was tied, he was absolutely chuffed to bits.

I absolutely love it

While he was thrilled with the game ending in a tie, Ian Smith also hilariously cleared that he will retire from the commentary if the super over is tied this time around. “If this Super Over ends in a tie, I’m retired. I’ve lost my years of life (calling three super overs in just over six months), but I love it. I absolutely love it,” he said while commentating.

However, much to Ian Smith and New Zealand’s despair, India went on to clinch the thriller thanks to Rohit Sharma who managed to hit two sixes when 10 runs were needed off two balls. Having said that, the super over didn’t tie and even if it was a tie, another super over would’ve come into play with the ICC scrapping the boundary count rule after the controversial World Cup.

Interview with Irfan Pathan