India all-rounder Harmanpreet Kaur to play for Surrey Stars in Kia Super League

The second edition of the Kia Super League will commence on August 10, 2017.

Harmanpreet Kaur
Harmanpreet Kaur of the Thunder. (Photo by Scott Barbour/Getty Images)

All-rounder from India women’s cricket team Harmanpreet Kaur will represent the Surrey Stars in the upcoming Kia Super League. This will be the second edition of the England’s T20 tournament for women hosted by the England and Wales Cricket Board.

The 28-year old Harmanpreet Kaur boasts of the highest score of 77 in T20Is, while her highest score in the one-dayers is an unbeaten 107. Kaur had also represented the Sydney Thunder in the Big Bash League down under. In fact, she created history in July 2016, by becoming the first Indian player to be signed up for the Women’s Big Bash League. Kaur repaid the faith of Sydney’s selectors by an impressive performance in her very first appearance in Australia’s domestic T20 tournament.


Harmanpreet Kaur in the WBBL

In 12 innings for the Sydney Thunder, Harmanpreet amassed 296 runs at a healthy average of 59.20. The all-rounder went on to bag a total of 6 wickets as well. As a result of her all-round performance throughout the season, the Indian Women’s T20 captain was adjudged Sydney Thunder’s WBBL Player of the Tournament.

Nevertheless, Harmanpreet came under the scanner during her stint with Sydney Thunder. She was charged for breaching the Cricket Australia Code of Conduct during her side’s Women’s Big Bash League match against the Hobart Hurricanes in Hobart. In particular, Harmanpreet was reported for breaching CA’s Code of Conduct Article 2.1.2 – abuse of cricket equipment or clothing, ground equipment or fixtures and fittings during a match – which is a level 1 offence.

The second edition of the Kia Super League will commence on August 10, 2017. A total of 6 teams will be seen playing each other in a league format. The format for the KSL in some way resembles the IPL – the top ranked teams will get a direct entry into the final while the second and third-ranked sides will compete for a spot in the final.