India vs Australia: BCCI confirms the schedule of limited-overs home series

India vs Australia: BCCI confirms the schedule of limited-overs home series

The fixtures start with the T20I series followed by the ODI series.

Virat Kohli
Virat Kohli. (Photo by Ryan Pierse/Getty Images)

India are currently in Australia where they played a three-match T20I series followed by the four-match Test series. Even as the T20I series was drawn, the visiting team, captained by Virat Kohli, won the Test series 2-1 after victories in Adelaide and Melbourne respectively. The visitors are next scheduled to play a three-match ODI series, which gets underway on January 12 at the Sydney Cricket Ground (SCG).

After the conclusion of the series, India would play New Zealand in a T20I and ODI series that starts on the third week of January. They would again lock horns with the Aussies, this time in a home T20I and ODI series from the last week of February. The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI), has confirmed the schedule for the fixtures that starts with the T20I series followed by the ODI series.

An important series for both teams

The series is expected to be a crucial one for both the teams as they would be keen to get their combinations right ahead of the 50-overs World Cup, which is scheduled to start on May 30 in England and Wales. It will be India’s last limited-overs assignments prior to the mega event, and hence, they won’t want to let any sort of complacency sneak in to disturb their momentum.

In the last World Cup, India bowed out after the semi-final and the two-time World Champions would want to go one step ahead and win their third cup. The Aussies, on the contrary, would most probably be playing a T20I and ODI series against Pakistan before the World Cup. The Men in Yellow haven’t had the best of times recently and being the defending champions, a lot would be expected of them.

The Aussies last toured India back in 2017 for a five-match ODI series and a three-match T20I series. Even as Kohli’s men won the ODI series 4-1, the visitors managed to tie the T20I series with victories in Bangalore and Guwahati respectively.

Here’s the schedule of the upcoming series

Australia's tour of India
Australia’s tour of India 2019. (Photo Source: Twitter)

Get the latest Cricket News and updates, Match PredictionsFantasy Cricket Tips and lots more on