India 9-0 Pakistan, Super 10 kicks off in style

India 9-0 Pakistan, Super 10 kicks off in style

Full Teams

India: Rohit Sharma, Shikhar Dhawan, Suresh Raina, Yuvraj Singh, Virat Kohli, Mahendra Singh Dhoni (c & wk), Ravichandran Ashwin, Ravindra Jadeja, Amit Mishra, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Mohammed Shami

Pakistan: Kamran Akmal (wk), Ahmed Shehzad, Mohammad Hafeez (c), Umar Akmal, Shoaib Malik, Sohaib Maqsood, Shahid Afridi, Bilawal Bhatti, Umar Gul, Saeed Ajmal, Junaid Khan

Umpires: Kumara Dharmasena and Richard Kettlebrough

India 131-3 after 18.3 overs (Kohli 36, Raina 35, Ajmal 1-18) beat Pakistan 130 for 7 after 20 overs (U Akmal 33, Shehzad 22, Mishra 2-22) by 7 wickets

19.28 HRS IST Once again, MS Dhoni won the toss and invited the opposition to have a bat on a flat track outside India, this time in Mirpur. Going into the game with 3 spinners, India opened the bowling with Ravichandran Ashwin who gave away 4 runs from his first over. The only wicket to fall so far was of Kamran Akmal, who failed to make his crease after a misjudged run. More chances were created but India failed to create more pressure as Yuvraj Singh misjudged a catch and dropped it.

19.38 HRS IST Spinners turned out to be effective yet again for team India as Ravindra Jadeja made Mohammad Hafeez hole it out to Bhuvneshwar Kumar who slipped but held on to the catch. Amit Mishra followed up with a wicket maiden as he drove Ahmed Shehzad out of the crease to be stumped by Dhoni. Pakistan eventually brought up their 50 in the fourth ball of the 10th over but they are quite slow as off now.

19.50 HRS IST Strong counter-attack by Shoaib Malik and Umar Akmal prompted Pakistan to 76-2 at the end of 12 overs as two consecutive poor overs by Yuvraj Singh and Amit Mishra relieved a bit of pressure. Dhoni brought Ashwin back into the attack to control the flow of runs in the 13th over but Indian fielding remains below par as they failed to stop the conversion of singles into doubles.

Umar Akmal top scored for Pakistan with a 30 ball 33

20.08 HRS IST The pressure remains adament on both the sides as Pakistan have moved themselves above the par rate of 6 runs an over. Ashwin ends his economical wicketless spell for figures of 4-0-24-0. Bhuvneshwar Kumar missed a catch on the last ball of the 15th over but Amit Mishra backs him up with a wicket in the second ball of the next over to have Shoaib Malik caught at long-off by Suresh Raina to end a sensible half-century partnership between the two. The new man to join in is Shahid Afridi and Amit Mishra ends his spell for 4-1-22-2

20.05 HRS IST After Amit Mishra, it was time for Ravindra Jadeja to end his economical spell with 4-0-18-1. Dhoni gave the ball back to Shami who utilised his death bowling skills to get rid of a set Umar Akmal for 33. This was also Shami’s first T20I wicket.

20.18 HRS IST Suresh Raina took the third catch of the night to get rid of Shahid Afridi as India continue to hold their grip on the game. This time it was Bhuvneshwar Kumar who produced the wicket taking delivery. Dhoni gave the last over to Mohammed Shami but Sohaib Maqsood returned him with a 80 metre six over long-on. 14 runs came off the first 4 balls before Shami produced a brilliant delivery for a dot and a last ball run-out kept Pakistan to 130. This is also the lowest score in a World T20I match between the two teams.

20.53 HRS IST Indian openers were off to a slow start as they managed only 4 runs of the first 10 balls. The red light goes up in the next ball, but fortunately its not by the third umpire. Dhawan completes a risky single and the pressure of the big game is clearly visible on both the sides. The required rate has been starting to rise at the end of three overs. Sharma broke the ice finally with a scoop over fine-leg for a four and then doubled it up with a six of the next delivery. Dhawan continued to be cramped for room against pace as India reached a decent 19-0 after 4 overs

21.14 HRS IST Dhawan counter attacked Ajmal with 3 fours in his first over but he looks totally out of sorts today. Hafeez brought Afridi into attack but after a silent over, Rohit Sharma and Shikhar Dhawan counter-attacked Gul in the next over to bring up 50 by the end of 8th over but Shikhar Dhawan fell on the last ball to end on 54-1

Yuvraj’s off stump was pegged back on his second ball

21.22 HRS IST India lost Rohit Sharma to Saeed Ajmal at the stroke of 10th over with India needing 66 more to win from 10 overs. Yuvraj Singh fell on the first ball of the 11th over to Bilawal Bhatti but it is still even-stevens on the big day with Raina, Dhoni and Jadeja yet to come.

21.35 HRS IST Raina and Kohli take India past 80 on a sluggish track where the ball is failing to reach the bat. The dew is coming into play now and the batsmen are finding it easy to play the ball now. With a score of just 131 to defend, it was always going to be difficult to bowl under lights. With the last 7 overs to come, India will be eyeing to finish the chase off as early as possible

21.48 HRS IST Indian counter-attack continues into the 15th over as well, this time by Virat Kohli. With 25 runs needed of 30 balls, cricket fans can expect that its just a matter of time before India wraps up the game. Looking into the record books, India has never lost to Pakistan in any form of match in the World Cups. They won 5 times in the 50-over extravaganza and are looking forward to do it for the 4th time in T20I carnival.

22.00 HRS IST Raina finishes things off in style for India. The teams finish the formalities by shaking hands. It was a calm and composed chase by the Indian team, whose reply to 131 was led by Virat Kohli and later joined by Suresh Raina. With this win, India notches up 4th win again Pakistan in the World T20 and also the 9th win against World Cups. Amit Mishra picks up the player of the match for his 4-1-22-2