India vs Sri Lanka, 2020: 2nd T20I – Virat Kohli’s milestones, Sri Lanka’s record defeat, India’s winning streak at Holkar and more stats

All the statistical highlights from India’s 7-wicket win the Indore T20I match.

Shreyas Iyer and Virat Kohli
Shreyas Iyer and Virat Kohli. (Photo Source: Twitter)

India took a 1-0 lead in the 3-match T20I series against Sri Lanka after completing a 7-wicket win in the 2nd T20I hosted by Indore. No batsman barring Kusal Perera (34) scored more than 25 runs for the Sri Lankans as they were restricted to just 142/9 by virtue of some tight bowling by Indian pacers. The Indian openers KL Rahul (45) and Shikhar Dhawan (32) added 71 in 9.1 overs while Shreyas Iyer (34) and Virat Kohli (30*) put on 51 in 4.5 overs to help India chase down the target with 15 balls to spare.

All the statistical highlights from India’s 7-wicket win the Indore T20I match:

A record defeat for Sri Lanka:

62 – Sri Lanka now has lost 62 T20I matches till date; the most number of losses for any team in the T20I format. They went past West Indies’ 61 defeats in T20Is with the 7-wicket loss in Indore.


12 – Number of wins for India over Sri Lanka in T20I cricket; the most number of wins for the Indian team against any side in this format. India have won 11 out of the 20 T20I matches they played against Australia; their previous most T20I wins against an opponent.

India’s fortress:

9/9 – India won each of the nine matches they played at the Indore’s Holkar Stadium in International cricket. They won five ODIs, two Tests and two T20Is at this venue thus far. No other team won more than six International games at a venue at 100 win percentage.

Kohli the finisher:

15 – The Indore T20I was the 15th instance of Virat Kohli remaining unbeaten in a successful T20I chase. Only Shoaib Malik (16) has been unbeaten more often in successful T20I chases than Kohli while MS Dhoni also remained not out 15 times when India won chasing in T20Is.

3 – Virat Kohli now has finished off a T20I chase on three instances by hitting a six. Among Indian players, MS Dhoni also completed a T20I chase by hitting a maximum.

India’s top order contributions:

1 – Each of India’s top four scored at least 30 runs in this game; the first instance of India’s top-4 batsmen reaching 30 in a T20I inning. Overall, this is the 8th instance of top-4 scoring 30+ runs during an inning in Men’s T20Is.

A day of milestones for Virat:

30 – Virat Kohli completed 1000 runs in T20Is as captain when he reached 24. He thus became only the 11th player to amass 1000 runs as captain across Men’s (6 players) and Women’s (5 players) T20I matches. Kohli is also the quickest to reach the milestone taking 30 innings and thus broke the record jointly held by Faf du Plessis and Stafanie Taylor in 31 innings.

5016 – Virat Kohli also became only the 2nd player after MS Dhoni to aggregate 5000 runs in the Twenty20 format as captain. Kohli reached this feat when he went past his individual score of 14.