India vs Windies, 2018: 2nd T20I – Statistical Highlights

All the major stats and numbers that were recorded India’s huge win in the Lucknow T20I.

Bhuvneshwar Kumar
Bhuvneshwar Kumar. (Photo Source: Twitter)

India sealed off the T20I series with one match to go as they defeated the Windies team by a huge margin of 71 runs in the 2nd T20I in Lucknow. Skipper Rohit Sharma scored an unbeaten 111 to power India to 195/2 in their 20 overs. The Caribbean side, filled-up with big hitting players, failed to cope up with the Indian bowling attack. No Windies batsman got to even 25 in their total of 124/9 with as many as four Indian bowlers taking two wickets apiece.

All the major stats and numbers that were recorded India’s huge win in the Lucknow T20I:

1 – Rohit Sharma became the first player to score a century in T20I format after playing 6 balls in a maiden over. Brendon McCullum played last four balls of a maiden over during his unbeaten 116 in the 2010 T20I against Australia.


1 – Rohit Sharma became the first player in T20I history to score four centuries. At the start of 2018, Colin Munro hit his 3rd T20I ton to become the first such one.

India vs Windies, 2018: List of records Rohit Sharma created with his 4th T20I century

3 – After scoring a century, Rohit also took three catches. Thus, he became the first player to score a century and take more than one catch in the same T20I. Glenn Maxwell in the Hobart T20I this year against England was the first to score a T20I ton and take multiple wickets as he took three wickets and also took a catch on the field before scoring 103*.

3 – Number of century partnerships between Rohit and Shikhar Dhawan for the first wicket in T20I format. They are the 3rd pair after Martin Guptill-Colin Munro and David Warner-Shane Watson with three century opening stands.

7 – This is India’s 7th consecutive T20I series/tournament win which is the 2nd longest series winning streak for any side. Pakistan has an ongoing streak of 11 consecutive T20I series/tournament wins.

9 – Rohit Sharma now has been part of nine century partnerships in T20I cricket; the most by any player. He went past Martin Guptill who has been involved in eight 100-run stands in this format.

57 – Number of wins Rohit has been a part of in T20I cricket. Only Shoaib Malik (75) featured in more T20I wins than Rohit. The Indian captain went past Shahid Afridi and MS Dhoni who were a part of 56 T20I victories.

1023 – Shikhar Dhawan became the sixth Indian player to aggregate 1000 runs in T20I cricket. India are the 3rd team after Pakistan and Sri Lanka to have as many as six players with 1000+ T20I runs.

1268 – Rohit and Dhawan have scored 1268 runs in T20I cricket as a pair; the most by any pair. Australia’s David Warner and Shane Watson aggregated 1154 runs a pair in this format.

Get the latest Cricket News and updates, Match PredictionsFantasy Cricket Tips and lots more on