Indian cricketers arouse to congratulate PM Narendra Modi on Lok Sabha victory

Indian cricketers arouse to congratulate PM Narendra Modi on Lok Sabha victory

Narendra Modi is the first non-Congress Prime Minister to be reelected with full majority.

Narendra Modi
Indian PM Narendra Modi. (Photo Source: Twitter)

It was quite a historic day for the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) and their allies as the National Democratic Alliance (NDA) clean swept most of the seats pan India in the Lok Sabha elections. Riding on this massive saffron surge, Narendra Modi is all set to take oath for the second consecutive time as the Prime Minister of the country. BJP this time as well will not need the support from any other political parties and can form the government all by themselves as they’ve gained a clear and massive majority.

While 272 out of the 543 seats are to be won by a party or an alliance, BJP alone captured nearly 300 of them. Thus, Narendra Modi will become the first non-Congress Prime Minister to hold office for the second consecutive term. Jawaharlal Nehru and his daughter Indira Gandhi were the only other Prime Ministers to have achieved this feat earlier.

Narendra Modi to hold the office for another five years

Many thought that the victory is 2014 was quite a landslide for the NDA. But this time around, they have in fact bettered their figures in many aspects. The party has managed to capture most of the seats in the Hindi-speaking states. Also, they made massive gains in West Bengal in these elections. Odisha, Maharashtra and Karnataka were all clean swept by the party to assert their dominance.

Kerala, Tamil Nadu and Andhra Pradesh were the only states that remained unshattered by the Saffron fever. Telangana, where the BJP doesn’t have the strongest of holds, managed to stun the TRS party by winning four seats, the same as the Pink party. With Narendra Modi reelected, leaders from all around the globe queued up to congratulate the 68-year-old. Pakistan Prime Minister Imran Khan also took it to the micro-blogging site Twitter to pass on his wishes to his counterpart.

The cricketing world arose to wish Modi on this emphatic victory. Both the Indian cricketers took to various social media platforms to wish the PM.

Here is how the cricketing world reacted to PM Modi’s resounding win: