Indian squad announced for West Indies Test series

Indian squad announced for West Indies Test series

Virat Kohli Indian Test skipper
Indian Test captain Virat Kohli. (Photo by S.KODIKARA/AFP/Getty Images)

The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) selectors today announced the Indian team for the four-Test series to be played in the West Indies in July-August 2016.

The Virat Kohli led side has Ajinkya Rahane as the vice-captain. Murali Vijay and Shikhar Dhawan are the openers, with KL Rahul, Cheteshwar Pujara and Rohit Sharma in the middle-order.

Wriddhiman Saha, who has an experience of playing 11 Test matches is the only wicket-keeper batsman in the squad whereas the selectors said they have asked Rahul to work on his wicketkeeping and will be an available option. Stuart Binny gets a chance as the seam bowling all-rounder along with a strong spin bowling unit of Ravichandran Ashwin, Amit Mishra and Ravindra Jadeja. Mishra had a good domestic season and he performed well for his IPL franchise Delhi Daredevils (DD) this season.

Also check out – Indian team announced for Zimbabwe tour

The fast bowling pack comprises of Ishant Sharma, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Mohammed Shami, Umesh Yadav along with uncapped Mumbai swing bowler Shardul Thakur. This is the maiden Test call for right-arm fast bowler Thakur.

The series will be overlapped with the Caribbean Premier League (CPL) which is likely to begin in late June and finish in the first week of August.

Indian Test squad for the tour of West Indies:

Virat Kohli (C), Ajinkya Rahane (vice-captain), Rohit Sharma, Shikhar Dhawan, KL Rahul, Cheteshwar Pujara, Murali Vijay, Wriddhiman Saha, Ravichandran Ashwin, Amit Mishra, Ravindra Jadeja, Ishant Sharma, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Mohammed Shami, Umesh Yadav, Stuart Binny, Shardul Thakur.