Indian team announced for Zimbabwe tour

MS Dhoni Indian captain
Indian limited over’s captain MS Dhoni. (Photo by Ryan Pierse/Getty Images)

The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) announced the Indian team for the 3 ODIs and 3 T20s for the tour to Zimbabwe that kicks off on June 11. The BCCI has decided to go in with a new look side with fresh faces in the fray for the first time.

MS Dhoni will tour with the team since he has no Test commitments in the days that follow. KL Rahul has been rewarded for his good performances in the domestic team as well as in the IPL. Central Zone batsman Faiz Fazal is the surprise pick, especially after not having featured in the IPL this season.


Check out the Indian Test team – Indian squad announced for West Indies Test series

Manish Pandey, Rishi Dhawan, Ambati Rayudu, Jasprit Bumrah and Axar Patel have retained their places in the squad. Kedar Jadhav, who hit a century in Zimbabwe last year, is named as the reserve keeper in the team. Karun Nair, who was the second leading run-getter for Delhi Daredevils in the IPL this year, has been rewarded with the national call up.

Pacers Jaydev Unadkat and Dhawal Kulkarni have made it to the team again. Barinder Sran, who went on the limited-overs tour to Australia earlier this year, will also be in the pace department. Among the spinners, Haryana leggie Yuzvendra Chahal has made it to the team for the first time. He is the Purple Cap holder in the IPL after the league stages. Off-spinner Jayant Yadav, too, has received his maiden national team call up.

India squad for 3 ODI and 3 T20I tour of Zimbabwe:

MS Dhoni (c), KL Rahul, Faiz Fazal, Manish Pandey, Karun Nair, Ambati Rayudu, Rishi Dhawan, Axar Patel, Jayant Yadav, Dhawal Kulkarni, Jasprit Bumrah, Barinder Sran, Mandeep Singh, Kedar Jadhav, Jaidev Unadkat, Yuzvendra Chahal.