Indian team for the ODI series against Sri Lanka announced

Indian team for the ODI series against Sri Lanka announced

The three-match ODI series kicks off on December 10 at Dharamsala.

Bhuvneshwar Kumar Indian team
Indian team. (Photo by ISHARA S. KODIKARA/AFP/Getty Images)

The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) today announced the Indian team for the three-match One-Day International series against Sri Lanka starting December 10. Considering the upcoming tour of South Africa and the packed schedule they’ve had thus far skipper Virat Kohli has been rested for the series.

Opener Rohit Sharma who has been the designated vice-captain of the limited-overs team will take over the reins for the series. This will be the first time Rohit will lead India in an international match. Mumbai batsman Shreyas Iyer who made his international debut against New Zealand in the T20I series and displayed glimpses of his potential has been called up in the ODI team and is likely that he will take Virat’s place in the batting order.

Test vice-captain Ajinkya Rahane who hasn’t had a fluent run in 50 overs cricket of late is also a part of the team and he would want to make most of the opportunities that come his way. Sri Lanka do not possess the best of the bowling attacks and it is a great chance for him to stake a claim on the available spot in the middle-order.

Dinesh Karthik who had impressed most people with his exploits against the Kiwis has successfully held on to his place and so have Manish Pandey and Kedar Jadhav. The Indian team will want to figure out the right combination to structure a strong spine of the batting line-up which has otherwise at times looked fragile when the top order failed.

All-rounder Hardik Pandya after resting for the Tests will be back for the ODIs and old warhorse MS Dhoni amidst criticism will be there to mentor this young team and the new skipper Rohit.

Siddharth Kaul gets his call

The bowling attack has a similar look with the three spinners Axar Patel, Yuzvendra Chahal and Kuldeep Yadav continuing to be the first choice for limited-overs cricket. Bhuvneshwar Kumar and Jasprit Bumrah have without a doubt been the best pair for India in white ball cricket if we look at the recent history.

The duo has a new partner this time in Punjab medium pacer Siddharth Kaul, a street-smart cricketer Kaul has been in the fray ever since his notable show in domestic cricket which he was able to replicate while representing India A. He has worked with Bhuvneshwar in the Sunrisers Hyderabad team and will thus find it a tad bit easier to fit into the vibrant Indian dressing room.

Indian team for the Sri Lanka ODIs:

Rohit Sharma (C), Shikhar Dhawan, Ajinkya Rahane, Shreyas Iyer, Manish Pandey, Kedar Jadhav, Dinesh Karthik, MS Dhoni (wk), Hardik Pandya, Axar Patel, Kuldeep Yadav, Yuzvendra Chahal, Jasprit Bumrah, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Siddharth Kaul

The first match of the ODI series will be played at the HCA Stadium in Dharamsala on December 10, the teams will then travel to Mohali for the 2nd ODI on December 13 and the last match of the series is slated to be hosted by the ACA-VDCA Stadium in Vizag on December 17.