India’s predicted squad for the T20I series against the West Indies

India’s predicted squad for the T20I series against the West Indies

India's West Indies tour will start with three T20Is with the first two matches to be played in the USA.

Indian team
Indian team. (Photo by Albert Perez/Getty Images)

With the 50 overs World Cup done and dusted, now the teams will be focusing on next year’s T20 championship taking place in Australia. Particularly, Team India will begin their preparations in the span of the next two weeks. The Men in Blue will be playing against the defending champions. Like the last Caribbean sojourn, USA will be the host for the first couple of T20Is and the remaining one will be played in Guyana, West Indies.

It will be an interesting series for both sides which is full of youngsters. The Indian team will see some of their future stars making their T20I debut as senior players are excepted to get a break after the World Cup. On the other side, the Windies will be keen to set their record straight after losing the last series 3-0.

Here is the predicted T20I squad for India

Virat Kohli is likely to play this series as well and will undoubtedly lead the side. If he is not playing, Rohit Sharma will take over the mantle of the team and as well as of the batting unit. KL Rahul will accompany Hitman in the absence of Shikhar Dhawan. Both Shreyas Iyer and Shubman Gill will get their due for their good performances at top of the order in IPL 2019.

Along with his keeping skills the explosive batsman, Rishabh Pant will be trying to redeem himself in the T20Is. Manish Pandey will be eager to continue his good form which started in the second half of IPL 2019. Krunal Pandya is expected to play the role of the all-rounder. The Jharkhand keeper-batsman Ishan Kishan can also get a look in.

Kuldeep Yadav and Rahul Chahar are the likely spin options. Shreyas Gopal can get his opportunity if the selectors go by the performances of the 12th edition of IPL. The pace attack will be led by Bhuvneshwar Kumar along with the youngsters Navdeep Saini and Khaleel Ahmed. Avesh Khan can also find himself in the mix due to his recent good form.

India’s predicted 15-member T20I squad:

Virat Kohli (c), Rohit Sharma, KL Rahul, Shreyas Iyer, Shubman Gill, Manish Pandey, Rishabh Pant (wk), Krunal Pandya, Kuldeep Yadav, Rahul Chahar, Shreyas Gopal, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Navdeep Saini, Khaleel Ahmed, Avesh Khan.