IPL 2017: Sunrisers Hyderabad v Mumbai Indians, Game 48 – Match Result Predictions

IPL 2017: Sunrisers Hyderabad v Mumbai Indians, Game 48 – Match Result Predictions

Sunrisers Hyderabad were beaten in their own den by the Rising Pune Supergiant in their previous match.

Mumbai Indians
Mumbai Indians. (Photo: IANS)

The Sunrisers Hyderabad, at one stage in the tournament, seemed like the team to beat this season. They were marching towards the playoffs with skipper David Warner leading from the front with some scintillating knocks. In the recent few games though, they seemed to have lost their way. All of a sudden, they see themselves with the panic button right next to them.

Sunrisers need to win their remaining two games to ensure that they qualify for the playoffs. The first among the two hurdles is the table toppers Mumbai Indians. The MI camp are having a rollicking run in the season thus far. Everything they do seems to be turning into gold for them. Needless to say, they sit comfortably at the top of the points table.

Talking about the most recent form, Mumbai Indians crushed the Delhi Daredevils at Delhi in the previous match riding on fifties from Lendl Simmons and Kieron Pollard. With the win, they became the first team to qualify for the playoffs in this season of the tournament. On the other hand, Sunrisers Hyderabad were beaten in their own den by the Rising Pune Supergiant in their previous match. The defeat ended their 5-match winning streak in the season.

Here is what Crictracker predicts for the game:                   

Scenario 1: SRH will win the toss

Toss Prediction: SRH will choose to bowl

First innings prediction: 185

2nd innings Prediction: MI will win by 15-20 runs


Scenario 2: MI will win the toss

Toss Prediction: MI will choose to bowl

First innings Prediction: 170

2nd innings Prediction: MI will win by 4 wickets with an over to spare.

Head to Head Record

Overall: Total Matches – 9, SRH Won – 4, MI Won – 5

The Mumbai Indians have locked horns with the Sunrisers Hyderabad on 9 occasions in the tournament history thus far. They hold the upper edge with 5 wins but only marginally. Prior to the commencement of the season, the head-to-head clashes were 4 all to the each department. The first time these two sides met this season, it was MI who had registered a four-wicket win at Mumbai. Considering the head-to-head clashes at the venue in Hyderabad, both teams have been equally matched. In the 4 matches played, they have 2 wins to their names.

Team Combinations:

Sunrisers Hyderabad

The defending champions will have a forced change to make in their playing eleven considering the injury to their senior player Ashish Nehra. Nehra was seen struggling in the previous game and did not bowl his complete quota of four overs. Team mentor VVS Laxman confirmed his exclusion citing hamstring injury as the reason. Mohammad Siraj is likely to replace him in the side.

Barring this change, the lineup is expected to be the same more or less. The batting order looks set with heavyweights lined up in the top four. Bipul Sharma will be retained in the side as the second spinner to Rashid Khan in the lineup.

Predicted XI:  David Warner(c), Shikhar Dhawan, Kane Williamson, Yuvraj Singh, Moises Henriques, Naman Ojha(w), Rashid Khan, Bipul Sharma, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Siddarth Kaul, Ashish Nehra.

Mumbai Indians

Mumbai Indians have absolutely no reason to tinker with their player combinations. They have been on a winning spree. Given the trends that they have always followed in the tournament, it will be unusual to see them tinker with their winning combination. There is no word on Krunal Pandya as of now. Even if Krunal fails to recover from his injury, the team will not feel his absence too much.

Karn Sharma, who played in place of Pandya in the previous game, was among the wickets n the previous game. He had taken 3 wickets in the previous match. He can be handy with the bat too. The bowling looks stable with the pace trio of Mitchell McClenaghan, Jasprit Bumrah, and Lasith Malinga.

Predicted XI: Parthiv Patel(w), Lendl Simmons, Nitish Rana, Rohit Sharma(c), Kieron Pollard, Hardik Pandya, Karn Sharma, Harbhajan Singh, Mitchell McClenaghan, Jasprit Bumrah, Lasith Malinga.

Given MI’s terrific run in the season, they will definitely start favorites but you can never rule out the Sunrisers Hyderabad as they are the defending champions.

Do let us know your predictions in the comments section below.