IPL 2018 Auction: Over 1000 players signed up | CricTracker.com

IPL 2018 Auction: Over 1000 players signed up

A total of 281 capped players, 838 uncapped players, including 778 Indians and three players from the Associate nations.

Kanpur IPL | CricTracker.com
IPL. (Photo Source: Twitter)

The eleventh edition of the Indian Premier League (IPL) is around the corner and streets have started to blare horns, fans are on their feet as the excitement reaches a higher echelon. The battle to claim the coveted title is all set to begin in a months time and IPL 2018 auction promises to be a bigger and better than all its previous versions.

The IPL Governing Council had asked players to register before 12th January, and with the last date approaching, as many as 1122 players have signed up to be a part of mega player auction event which is scheduled to take place in Bengaluru on January 27-28, 2018. It comes as an obvious fact that players from all cricketing nations will look to express themselves and will be praying to earn a contract despite cut-throat competition.

The list of over 1000 players has already been sent out to all eight franchises, who are expected to work out the last minute changes before going into the auction in two weeks time. A total of 281 capped players, 838 uncapped players, including 778 Indians and three players from the Associate nations have been listed thus far.

The Auction is expected to be bigger and better as the modern greats of Indian cricket will once again go under the hammer. The likes of Gautam Gambhir, Harbhajan Singh, Yuvraj Singh, Murali Vijay, Ravichandran Ashwin, and many other Indian stars have already set their respective base price. The franchises will keep no box unturned when the swashbuckler Chris Gayle, Chris Lynn, Ben Stokes and many others come up for the IPL Auction 2018.

England’s Test skipper Joe Root has also registered for this year’s IPL and looks forward to being a part of the most popular franchise based T20 league. On the other hand, Sri Lankans will once again throw their names into the ring as Lasith Malinga, current skipper Angelo Mathews, the exciting Niroshan Dickwella, and Thisara Perera have also registered.

58 Registration from Australia

Total of 58 registration have come from Australia and some of the popular stars who have already played for many franchises in the past will look to put the right foot forward and make a name for themselves. Showing a full-range of strokes will be Glenn Maxwell, the man-in-form Shane Watson, to the old warhorse Mitchell Jhonson.

The second highest registrations have come from South Africa and the world will once again witness the Test heroes turn into T20 specialists hammering the ball all around the park. The likes of Hashim Amla, skipper Faf du Plessis and many others have registered to go full monty.

The uncapped players get an opportunity to showcase their talent and play with the biggest names in international cricket. In this year’s IPL auction, the U19 skipper Prithvi Shaw, the middle order batsman Deepak Hooda, Krunal Pandya and many others will be up for grabs.

List of players registered country wise:

Country Players Registered
Afghanistan 13
Australia 58
Bangladesh 8
England 26
Ireland 2
New Zealand 30
Scotland 1
South Africa 57
Sri Lanka 39
West Indies 39
Zimbabwe 7