IPL 2018: In their short rivalry so far, Chennai Super Kings lead 4-2 against SRH

Both sides are doing quite well in the context of this season's IPL.

Chennai Super Kings CSK IPL 2018
(Photo Source: Twitter)

For Sunrisers Hyderabad (SRH), Chris Gayle’s unbeaten ton the other night was a reality check. The Hyderabad franchise tasted their first loss in the tournament in their fourth game against Kings Xi Punjab and slipped from the top position in the table.

Chennai Super Kings (CSK), on the other hand, thrashed Rajasthan Royals by 64 runs on Friday, April 20, after their shocking 4-run defeat to Punjab in their previous match. Both teams have six points in four outings but CSK is sitting at the top of the table by the virtue of a better run-rate.

Mahendra Singh Dhoni’s men will lock horns with Kane Williamson’s side in the first game of Sunday, April 22, at Rajiv Gandhi International Cricket Stadium, Hyderabad. The two teams have met 6 times since SRH’s debut in 2013 till 2015 after which CSK stood suspended for two editions. Out of the 6 games, CSK has won 4 and SRH 2.

Here is a quick glance at the past results of SRH-CSK games in brief:


Game 1: CSK won by 5 wickets at MA Chidambaram Stadium, Chennai
SRH 159/6 in 20 overs; CSK 160/5 in 19.4 overs. MoM Mahendra Singh Dhoni (CSK) 67 not out off 37 balls.

Game 2: CSK won by 77 runs at RGICS
CSK 223/3 in 20 overs; SRH 146/8 in 20 overs. MoM Suresh Raina (CSK) 99 not out off 54 balls & 1 wicket for 4 runs.


Game 1: CSK won by 5 wickets at Sharjah Cricket Stadium
SRH 145/5 in 20 overs; CSK 146/5 in 19.3 overs. MoM Dwayne Smith (CSK) 66 off 46 balls.

Game 2: SRH won by 6 wickets at JSCA International Stadium Complex, Ranchi
CSK 185/3 in 20 overs; SRH 189/4 in 19.4 overs. David Warner (SRH) 90 off 45 balls.


Game 1: CSK won by 45 runs at MA Chidambaram Stadium
CSK 209/4 in 20 overs; SRH 164/6 in 20 overs. MoM Brendon McCullum 100 not out off 56 balls.

Game 2: SRH won by 22 runs at RGICS
SRH 192/7 in 20 overs; CSK 170/6 in 20 overs. MoM David Warner (SRH) 61 off 28 balls.

Stay updated on ‘today’s cricket news‘ with CricTracker.com