IPL 2018: Match 1, Mumbai Indians vs Chennai Super Kings – Statistical Highlights

All the stats and numbers that were recorded during the thrilling IPL opener.

Dwayne Bravo shot
Dwayne Bravo plays a shot. (Photo Source: Twitter)

The 11th edition of the Indian Premier League started off with a thrilling encounter where Chennai Super Kings edged over Mumbai Indians with a one-wicket win. Mumbai Indians posted 165/4 in their 20 overs with 100 runs coming in the last ten overs. Debutant leg-spinner Mayank Markande and Hardik Pandya shared six wickets between them to reduce the visiting side to 118/8 but Dwayne Bravo’s 30-ball 68 with seven sixes helped CSK to pull off the game from nowhere.

All the stats and numbers that were recorded during the thrilling IPL opener:

1 – CSK’s 1-wicket win is only the 2nd 1-wicket win for any team in the IPL history. KKR defeated KXIP by a 1-wicket margin in the 2015 season at the Eden Gardens while chasing 184.


2 – Ambati Rayudu opened the innings for only the 2nd time in the 108 IPL innings. He opened the innings for Mumbai Indians in the 2012 IPL season against Pune Warriors also at the Wankhede where he scored 1 (2).

3/24 – For the first time, Hardik Pandya bagged three wickets in an IPL game. Only once he took more than one wicket in an IPL match in the previous three seasons. He took 2/22 against KKR in the last year’s league game at the Eden Gardens.

3/25 – Mayank Markande’s bowling figures of 3/25 are the 2nd best bowling figures on the IPL debut for the Mumbai Indians. Lasith Malinga registered figures of 3/15 on his IPL debut against CSK in the opening game of 2009 IPL.

41*Krunal Pandya’s unbeaten 41 is his 3rd consecutive 40+ score in the IPL. He scored an unbeaten 45 in the Qualifier 2 against KKR and 47 against RPS in the final during the 2017 season.

49 – Runs conceded by Mark Wood on his IPL debut. He conceded two runs in his first over but gave away 47 runs in his next three overs. Dwayne Bravo conceded three boundaries on the first three balls he bowled but gave away only 12 runs in the remaining 21 deliveries.

68Dwayne Bravo’s 68 is his 2nd highest individual score in the IPL and his highest for CSK. He scored an unbeaten 70 while playing for MI against KXIP in the 2009 edition.

499 – Number of players featured in the IPL in the first ten seasons. Evin Lewis, Mark Wood and Mayank Markande increased the tally to 502 by making their IPL debuts in this game.

2012 – Mumbai Indians have not won their first game of the IPL season for the six consecutive time. They last won their first game of an IPL season during the 2012 opening match which was against CSK.