IPL 2018: Shane Warne announces his 'All Star team' of the season

IPL 2018: Shane Warne announces his ‘All Star team’ of the season

The team looks well balanced and has an ability to beat the best in the business.

Shane Warne
Rajasthan Royals mentor Shane Warne. (Photo by IANS)

The Chennai Super Kings (CSK) and the Sunrisers Hyderabad (SRH) are all set to lock horns in the mega final of the Indian Premier League (IPL) on Sunday. While the likes of the Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR) and the Rajasthan Royals (RR) also made it to the playoffs, they failed to up their game in crunch situations. Though many didn’t give chance to the Royals midway through the tournament who were playing under the mentor Shane Warne who was now come up with his best XI of the season and has wished all the luck to both the teams for the final.

Jos Buttler and KL Rahul are the openers of Warne’s team who lit up the IPL with their batting at the top of the order this year. While the former smashed 5 consecutive half-centuries, Rahul’s tally of 659 runs in 14 matches proves he was in great form. Both of them successfully shouldered the responsibility of winning games single-handedly for their teams. Undoubtedly, Virat Kohli will bat at number 3 who was not at his best for the Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB) but still went on to score 530 runs at a strike-rate close to 140.

Who else made it?

Rishabh Pant and MS Dhoni are the two wicketkeepers Shane Warne has picked who will bat at 4 and 5 respectively. Also, the latter would most probably don the gloves behind the wickets given his superiority over the young Pant. But the 20-year-old was absolutely magnificent with his batting skills and pummelled the best of the bowlers also registering a century against SRH. Even Dhoni has reinvented himself as the finisher this season and is having one of the best seasons in the recent years.

Hardik Pandya and Andre Russell make it as the all-rounders who were impeccable for their respective franchise. The bowling attack is bolstered by the presence of the wicket-takers throughout. Rashid Khan has to be there in any team on any given day as he will be assisted by yet another wrist spinner Kuldeep Yadav. Two of the best death overs bowlers, Andrew Tye and Jasprit Bumrah, have been included by Warne as well in his best XI of the season.

Warne took to his official Twitter handle to announce his ‘All-Star XI’ of the season and also wished CSK and SRH the best for the title clash which will be played at the Wankhede Stadium.

Here’s Warne’s tweet:

[interaction id=”5b0a4ede8b3c7b0adc931009″]

Keep following CricTracker for more news and updates