IPL 2019: 5 Reasons why Mumbai Indians will win the tournament

IPL 2019: 5 Reasons why Mumbai Indians will win the tournament

The three-time champions are looking on course for their fourth IPL triumph.

Mumbai Indians
Mumbai Indians. (Photo: Surjeet Yadav/IANS)

The 12th season of the Indian Premier League (IPL) has reached its business end and the excitement of cricket fans in general and Indian cricket fans, in particular, is sky-high. It has all boiled down to three teams, as of now, with Mumbai Indians, Chennai Super Kings and Delhi Capitals having some business to do. Mumbai Indians are already in the finals, after thumping CSK in Qualifier 1, and are looking pretty solid to lift the trophy for the fourth time.

The Delhi Capitals have been brilliant this whole season with their young guns, like Rishabh Pant and Prithvi Shaw, doing well besides the likes of Ishant Sharma and others. Kagiso Rabada, who has been one of DC’s most important members this year will no longer be available to Shreyas Iyer and co., due to an injury. This has come as a big blow to the Delhi-based team as it could potentially cost them their maiden IPL title.

Whoever among CSK and DC qualify for the finals, they will have to go past Mumbai Indians who are looking extremely strong at the moment.

Here we bring you 5 Reasons why Mumbai Indians will win IPL 2019:

1. Great record in IPL finals

Mumbai Indians
Mumbai Indians. (Photo: IANS)

The Rohit Sharma-led MI has been the most successful team in the last 6 years of the IPL. Starting from 2013, Mumbai Indians have won three IPL trophies in just 6 seasons, IPL 2019 being the seventh. Their first championship victory came in 2013, followed by triumphs in 2015 and 2017 seasons, respectively. They would love this trend of winning the titles in alternate years to go on, and if that happens, Mumbai Indians will get their fourth championship victory in a few days, the most by any IPL team.

Mumbai Indians have some amazing numbers in the finals of the tournament. In the four IPL finals they have played till now, the three-time champions, as the words suggest, have won three. That is quite an achievement, given the fact that the most consistent IPL team right from the first season, Chennai Super Kings, despite playing in 7 IPL finals (2008, 2010, 2011, 2012, 2013, 2015 and 2018) till now, have only managed three victories.

Page 1 / 5