IPL 2019: Match 16 – DC vs SRH – Funniest Memes from the Match

IPL 2019: Match 16 – DC vs SRH – Funniest Memes from the Match

The Sunrisers won with nine balls to spare.

Jonny Bairstow
Jonny Bairstow. (Photo Source: Twitter)

The game between the Delhi Capitals (DC) and the Sunrisers Hyderabad (SRH) wasn’t a typical high-scoring affair. However, the match at the Feroz Shah Kotla in New Delhi turned out to be a closely-fought affair. In the end, it was the visiting team, led by Bhuvneshwar Kumar, came out trumps by five wickets. Moreover, they moved to the first position of the points table in the 2019 IPL.

The Capitals huff and puff

The Sunrisers won the toss and elected to bat and the decision worked well for them as they restricted the home team to 129 for eight in 20 overs. Prithvi Shaw and Shikhar Dhawan perished early in the quest of runs. Even as Bhuvneshwar Kumar nipped out Shaw, Mohammad Nabi accounted for the wicket of Shikhar. All of Rishabh Pant, Rahul Tewatia and Colin Ingram got out for single-digit scores.

Chis Morris added 17 runs from 15 balls. At the other end, Shreyas Iyer, the Capitals’ captain, didn’t throw in the towel and scored 43 runs off 41 deliveries with the help of three boundaries and one over-boundary. Leg-spinner Rashid Khan castled Iyer in the 17th over. Southpaw Axar Patel threw his willow around to score 23 valuable runs that also guided the home team to some sort of respectability.

SRH moves to the top

The run-chase started on an impressive note for the Sunrisers as David Warner and Jonny Bairstow put on another superlative stand of 64 runs for the opening wicket. While Warner played in a cautious manner, Bairstow didn’t die wondering. The Englishman played some gorgeous strokes and scored 48 runs from 28 balls following which leg-spinner Rahul Tewatia trapped the batter plumb in front.

In the next over, Kagiso Rabada removed the dangerous Warner, who could only manage 10 runs from 18 balls. Vijay Shankar and Manish Pandey scored 16 and 10 respectively, after which both got out to Axar Patel and Ishant Sharma respectively. Deepak Hooda fell prey to Sandeep Lamichhane. Mohammad Nabi smacked a four and a six off Rabada to take SRH over the line with nine balls to spare.

Here are the memes

Get the latest Cricket News and updates, Match PredictionsFantasy Cricket Tips and lots more on CricTracker.com.