IPL 2019: Match 5, Delhi Capitals vs Chennai Super Kings – Statistical Highlights

All the major stats and numbers from the thrilling game between Delhi and Chennai at the Feroz Shah Kotla.

Imran Tahir
Imran Tahir. (Photo: Surjeet Yadav/IANS)
Sampath Bandarupalli

Sr. Statistician

View : 987

3 Min Read

Get every cricket updates! Follow us on :

Chennai Super Kings clinched their 2nd straight win of IPL 2019 by defeating the Delhi Capitals in a last over thriller. On a tricky track, the home team elected to bat first after winning the toss. The DC team was on the right track at 118/2 after 15 overs but ended with 29/4 from the last five overs. The defending champions were cruising in the 148-run chase as they were placed at 98/3 in the 11th over. Both MS Dhoni and Kedar Jadhav couldn’t score runs quickly but the target was too less to put pressure on CSK.

All the major stats and numbers from the thrilling game between Delhi and Chennai at the Feroz Shah Kotla:

The “Indian” Premier League:

2 – This game is only the 2nd instance in the IPL where both the teams did not use the maximum quota of four overseas players in the Playing XI. The last league game during the 2017 season between Delhi Daredevils and Royal Challengers Bangalore also played in Delhi saw both the teams take the field with three players each.

6 – Number of overseas players featured in this game; the joint-fewest in any IPL match. The opening game of the 2011 edition between CSK and the Kolkata Knight Riders in Chennai witnessed six overseas players as KKR fielded with only two. The DD-RCB game in the 2017 season had only three overseas players on each side.

Mishra’s 50:

51 – Amit Mishra became the 2nd bowler to claim 50 wickets in the IPL at a single venue. He completed 50 IPL wickets at the Feroz Shah Kotla in his 40th match. Lasith Malinga is the other player with 50 IPL wickets at a venue having bagged 58 wickets from 39 matches at the Wankhede Stadium in Mumbai.

Tahir moves close to Rashid:

46 – Number of wickets Imran Tahir has claimed through “LBW” in T20 cricket; the joint 2nd most by any bowler. Rashid Khan leads the list with 51 LBW wickets in the format while Tahir shares the 2nd spot with Sunil Narine who also has 46 T20 wickets via LBW. The leg-spinner moved ahead of Shahid Afridi (45) with the dismissal of Shreyas Iyer.

Watson equals Afridi:

34 – Shane Watson now has as many as 34 ‘player of the match’ awards in the Twenty20 cricket. Only Chris Gayle (58) has more player of the match awards in this format. Shahid Afridi also has 34 such awards.

Career milestones for Ishant and Raina:

700 – Ishant Sharma completed 700 wickets in his professional career by dismissing Ambati Rayudu. The pacer claimed 426 wickets in first-class cricket, 178 in the List A format and 96 Twenty20 wickets thus far.

23007 – Suresh Raina completed 23000 runs in his professional career when he went past the individual score of 23. The left-hander has 6871 in FC cricket, 8078 runs in the List A format and 8058 runs in Twenty20 cricket thus far.

Bhajji goes past Chawla:

3705 – Runs Harbhajan Singh has conceded in the IPL; the most by any bowler as he surpassed Piyush Chawla (3696) in this game. Harbhajan bowled 526.2 overs in this league thus far; the only bowler to deliver 500+ overs.

[interaction id=”5c9a5eb2f511670f7f9f646d”]

Get the latest Cricket News and updates from the Indian Premier LeagueMatch PredictionsFantasy Cricket Tips and lots more on CricTracker.com.