IPL 2019: Official website goofs up while uploading full schedule

The declaration of the full schedule was postponed due to the General Elections.

IPL 2018 BCCI Jammu and Kashmir
IPL trophy. (Photo Source: Twitter)

View : 4.8K

2 Min Read

Get every cricket updates! Follow us on

The 12th edition of the Indian Premier League (IPL) is scheduled to start on Saturday, March 23. The opening game of the tournament is set to take place between Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB) and the Chennai Super Kings (CSK), the defending champion, at the renowned MA Chidambaram Stadium in Chennai. The hype surrounding the T20 tournament is also in an escalation.

Meanwhile, the tournament authorities have had to face some troubles, regarding scheduling the fixtures of the T20 extravaganza. The same is for the reason that the General Elections are all set to take place from next month. Therefore, the schedule only until Friday, April 5, was announced earlier. Meanwhile, everyone eagerly waited for the Election schedule to be announced.

A big goof-up by IPL website

The entire schedule could only have been released after the dates of the elections were put forth. Recently, reports also suggested the full scheduled would be released soon. Today, the IPL’s official website posted the entire dates of the remaining games. But something peculiar took place as the website took off the schedule from their portal as per reports in India Times Post.

There have been two other instances when the elections turned out to be a detriment to the cash-rich and prestigious tournament. Back in 2009, the IPL was hosted in the Rainbow Nation of South Africa, where the Deccan Chargers won the event. Then in 2014, the first part of the IPL took place in the United Arab Emirates (UAE) after which it came back to India.

It’s also the first instance when the IPL will be played before the ICC World Cup in England and Wales, scheduled to start on May 30. Hence, bearing in mind preparations and keeping up to the fitness levels, a lot of players may not end up playing the entire tournament. Mumbai Indians and CSK are the most successful teams in the event, having got their hands on the trophy three times each.

Here’s the picture of the goof-up

(Photo Source: iplt20.com)

Get the latest Cricket News and updates, Match PredictionsFantasy Cricket Tips and lots more on CricTracker.com.