IPL 2020: DRS rule under the scanner after MI denied a single against KXIP
The single run could turn out to be crucial in close matches in future.
Updated - Oct 2, 2020 3:49 pm
The Mumbai Indians (MI) won the 13th match of the ongoing Indian Premier League (IPL) comfortably by 48 runs against the Kings XI Punjab (KXIP). Both the teams played some top quality cricket but along with it, DRS has come under the scanner for the umpteenth time in the last few years. This time, it is not about the use of technology but the rules, the ICC has set when the umpire’s decision is reviewed.
In the 17th over of MI’s innings, Mohammed Shami got one to hit Kieron Pollard’s pads and the on-field umpire adjudged the batsman lbw. However, Pollard reviewed the decision and the replays confirmed that the ball was deflected to the pad with the bat. Meanwhile, the two batsmen had taken a single before being given out by the on-field umpire.
But according to the rules, as soon as the umpire gives the batsman out, the ball is dead and the run is not counted. Similarly, the single ran wasn’t counted and this has created a lot of confusion among the cricket experts and the fans. According to former India cricketer Aakash Chopra, the run should’ve been counted as he also asked the ICC to rethink its rules as it might cost a team World Cup going forward.
“Pollard and #MI denied a single. LBW given. Reviewed. Inside edge confirmed. But the easy run they took won’t count. Dear @ICC, this might cost someone the World Cup someday. Need a rethink. Umpires will have to reserve their decision till the ball is dead. #MIvsKXIP,” his tweet read.
Pollard and #MI denied a single. LBW given. Reviewed. Inside edge confirmed. But the easy run they took won’t count. Dear @ICC, this might cost someone the World Cup someday. Need a rethink. Umpires will have to reserve their decision till the ball is dead. #MIvKXIP
— Aakash Chopra (@cricketaakash) October 1, 2020
What does the law say?
The actual law states: “The batting side, while benefiting from the reversal of the dismissal, shall not benefit from any runs that may subsequently have accrued from the delivery had the on-field umpire originally made a Not-out decision, other than any No-ball penalty.”
However, this seems very unfair on the batting side if the decision is reversed. It didn’t make much of a difference for MI the other day. But a game like IPL 2019 final when Shardul Thakur was given out off the last ball when CSK needed two runs. The batsman had taken a review then and the on-field stayed. But what if the decision was reversed, the ball would’ve deemed dead and the single they ran wouldn’t have counted only to rob CSK off the title to spark controversy.
Another match which comes to the mind is the World Cup 2019 final when the boundary count rule was scrapped after all the backlash. One feels, ICC shouldn’t wait for something like that to happen to change the rule and instead take a decision on it as soon as possible.