IPL 2020: Match 32, MI vs KKR – MI's dominance over KKR, Cummins’ maiden T20 fifty and more stats

IPL 2020: Match 32, MI vs KKR – MI’s dominance over KKR, Cummins’ maiden T20 fifty and more stats

Here are all the statistical highlights from an 8-wicket win of Mumbai Indians during MI vs KKR.

Rahul Chahar
Rahul Chahar. (Photo Source: IPL/BCCI)

Mumbai Indians cruised to their 5th consecutive victory with a thumping 8-wicket win over the Kolkata Knight Riders. After electing to bat first, the KKR team lost half their side to 61 in 11 overs. However, Pat Cummins (53 off 36) and the new skipper Eoin Morgan (39* off 29) shared an unbeaten 87-run partnership to guide KKR finish on 148/5. Quinton de Kock smashed an unbeaten 44-ball 78 in the chase by putting on a 94-run opening stand with Rohit Sharma (35). MI went on to reach the target in only 16.5 overs for the loss of two wickets.

Here are all the statistical highlights from an 8-wicket win of Mumbai Indians during MI vs KKR:

MI gets the better of KKR yet again:

21-6Mumbai Indians now have won 21 out of 27 matches they played against Kolkata Knight Riders in the IPL; by far the most number of wins in the IPL for a team against an opponent. The MI team, in fact, won a total of 11 out of their last 12 meetings in the league against the Knight Riders.

13 – Rohit Sharma now has won 13 out of the 17 IPL matches he has led Mumbai Indians against the Kolkata Knight Riders. Rohit’s 13 IPL victories against KKR are the joint-most for any captain. MS Dhoni won 13 IPL games against the Knight Riders by lost as many as ten matches at the same time.

Rohit only behind Raina:

939Rohit Sharma now has aggregated 939 runs in the IPL against the Kolkata Knight Riders which are the 2nd most runs scored by any player against an opponent in the Twenty20 format. Suresh Raina leads the list with 955 T20 runs against KKR which includes an unbeaten hundred scored during CLT20 2014 final.

KKR’s new skipper:

5 – Eoin Morgan, during MI vs KKR, became the 5th captain of Kolkata Knight Riders in the IPL by taking over Dinesh Karthik. Sourav Ganguly (2008 & 2010), Brendon McCullum (2009), Gautam Gambhir (2011-2017) and Dinesh Karthik (2018-2020) are the other players to have led KKR in the IPL.

Morgan is also the 2nd England cricketer to be leading a team in the IPL. Kevin Pietersen stood as captain of Royal Challengers Bangalore in the 2009 edition for six matches.

Also Read

Cummins’ maiden T20 fifty:

53* – Pat Cummins’ unbeaten 53 in MI vs KKR is now the 5th highest individual score for Kolkata Knight Riders while batting at No.7 or lower position in the IPL. Only Andre Russell (88* vs CSK in 2018, 66 vs KXIP in 2015 and 62 vs DC in 2019) and Wriddhiman Saha (59 vs KXIP in 2008) recorded higher IPL scores than Cummins while batting at No.7 for KKR.

De Kock goes past Parthiv:

29Quinton de Kock now has 29 affected dismissals as a wicketkeeper in the IPL for Mumbai Indians – 26 catches and 3 stumpings. These are now the most number of keeping dismissals in the IPL for MI surpassing Parthiv Patel’s 28 dismissals.

A big stand for KKR’s rescue:

87* – The unbeaten 87-run partnership in MI vs KKR between Eoin Morgan and Pat Cummins is now the 2nd highest partnership in the IPL against Mumbai Indians for 6th or a lower wicket. Chris Morris and Kagiso Rabada pair added 91 for Delhi Daredevils against MI during the 2017 edition for the 7th wicket.

Boult @ 50:

50 – The wicket of Rahul Tripathi was the 50th wicket in the IPL for Trent Boult. The left-arm pacer is now only the 2nd New Zealand player to claim 50 IPL wickets after Mitchell McClenaghan who has picked up all his 71 wickets for Mumbai Indians only.