IPL 2020: RCB skipper Virat Kohli pulls himself after almost applying saliva to the ball against DC

IPL 2020: RCB skipper Virat Kohli pulls himself after almost applying saliva to the ball against DC

Virat Kohli realised that its usage is prohibited and suddenly pulled himself back and also had a smile on his face.

Virat Kohli
Virat Kohli. (Photo Source: twitter)

After a long break due to COVID-19 pandemic cricket resumed with the England and Wales Cricket Board (ECB) taking the lead to start their international summer. However, ahead of the resumption, ICC released a host of guidelines for the players to follow and among them was about the usage of saliva. The apex cricket council had strictly stated that the cricketers shouldn’t apply the saliva on the ball to avoid contracting the virus.

Since then, the sport has successfully resumed and even the Indian Premier League (IPL) has followed ECB’s footsteps to go ahead with its 13th edition in the UAE. The usage of saliva on the ball is banned even in the cash-rich league and even the players are abiding to it. But the Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB) skipper Virat Kohli, on Monday, had almost applied the saliva on the ball during the game against Delhi Capitals.

It all happened during the third over of the innings after RCB opted to bowl. Prithvi Shaw crunched a full delivery from Navdeep Saini straight into Kohli’s hands who was fielding at short cover. The RCB captain fielded it and he almost applied the saliva to the ball going by his habit before handing the ball to the bowler.

However, Virat Kohli realised that its usage is prohibited and suddenly pulled himself back and also had a smile on his face. He also looked at umpire stating that he didn’t use it and the video of the same has gone viral.

Here’s the video:

What happens if a player applies saliva?

As per the rules, if one of the players from the bowling team ends up actually using saliva during the game, then the umpires disinfect the ball. Also, the team is warned twice in this aspect and if the action is repeated on the third occasion, then the team is penalised for five runs.

But no such thing has happened so far since cricket has resumed despite the fact that there have been a few incidents of a player using saliva on the ball accidentally. Even Robin Uthappa of Rajasthan Royals was caught doing the same in one of the earlier IPL matches.