IPL 2021: Complete Sold Players List from the IPL Auction

IPL 2021: Complete Sold Players List from the IPL Auction

Out of 292 players, only 57 managed to get IPL contracts.

Cheteshwar Pujara
Cheteshwar Pujara. (Photo Source: Twitter)

The IPL 2021 auction took place on Thursday (February 18) in Chennai. A total of 291 players went under the hammer for the available 61 slots. A total of 164 Indian players, 124 overseas players, and 3 players from Associate nations were part of the auction. The list initially contained 292 players but England star Mark Wood pulled out of the auction on the eve of the event.

Originally, 1,144 players had registered themselves for the auction before the list was pruned after the eight franchises submitted their respective shortlist of players. As usual, the players were divided into different categories based on their base prices. Rs 2 crore was the highest base price while the lowest was Rs 20 lakh.

Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB) went into the auction with the highest number of vacancies (9) while Sunrisers Hyderabad (SRH) had the least number of vacancies (3). On the other hand, Punjab Kings went in with the highest available purse of Rs 53.2 crore for the nine vacant slots while Kolkata Knight Riders (8 vacant slots) and SRH went with the lowest available purse of Rs 10.75 crore. Chennai Super Kings (CSK), Delhi Capitals (DC), Mumbai Indians (MI), and Rajasthan Royals (RR) went in with 6, 8, 7, and 9 vacancies respectively.

Sold players:

Out of 292 players, only 57 managed to get IPL contracts. Chris Morris was the biggest gainer in the IPL auction as Rajasthan Royals made him the most expensive buy in the history of the auction by shelling out Rs 16.25 crore for him. The second-most-expensive player was New Zealand’s Kyle Jamieson who went to Royal Challengers Bangalore for Rs 15 crore.

Australia’s Glenn Maxwell also enjoyed his biggest payday at the auction, securing a Rs 14.25 crore deal from Royal Challengers Bangalore. And while these players have all the reasons to smile, there are also some players who must be feeling disappointed over not getting the amount they were expecting or going completely unsold.

Australia star Steve Smith saw only 20 lakhs being added to his base price of Rs 2 crore as Delhi Capital bought him for Rs 2.20 crore.  On the other hand, the likes of Kedar Jadhav, Harbhajan Singh, Karun Nair, Sam Billings, Mujeeb Ur Rahman were sold for their base prices.  Cheteshwar Pujara getting his first IPL deal since being released by Punjab Kings after IPL 2014 was also one of the highlights. Among some notable names who went unsold are – Hanuma Vihari, Alex Hales, Jason Roy, Aaron Finch.

Here is the complete list of sold players in the IPL 2021 auction

Name Base Price Sold Price Team
Steve Smith 2 crore 2.2 crore DC
Glenn Maxwell 2 crore 14.25 crore RCB
Shakib Al Hasan 2 crore 3.2 crore KKR
Moeen Ali 2 crore 7 crore CSK
Shivam Dube 50 lakh 4.4 crore RR
Chris Morris 75 lakh 16.25 crore RR
Dawid Malan 1.5 crore 1.5 crore PBKS
Adam Milne 50 lakh 3.2 crore MI
Mustafizur Rahman 1 crore 1 crore RR
Jhye Richardson 1.5 crore 14 crore PBKS
Nathan Coulter-Nile 1.5 crore 5 crore MI
Umesh Yadav 1 crore 1 crore DC
Piyush Chawla 50 lakh 2.4 crore MI
Sachin Baby 20 lakh 20 lakh RCB
Rajat Patidar 20 lakh 20 lakh RCB
Ripal Patel 20 lakh 20 lakh DC
Shahrukh Khan 20 lakh 5.25 crore PBKS
K Gowtham 20 lakh 9.25 crore CSK
Vishnu Vinod 20 lakh 20 lakh DC
Sheldon Jackson 20 lakh 20 lakh KKR
Mohammed Azharuddeen 20 lakh 20 lakh RCB
Lukman Meriwala 20 lakh 20 lakh DC
Chetan Sakariya 20 lakh 1.2 crore RR
Riley Meredith 40 lakh 8 crore PBKS
M Siddharth 20 lakh 20 lakh DC
Jagadeesha Suchith 20 lakh 30 lakh SRH
KC Cariappa 20 lakh 20 lakh RR
Cheteshwar Pujara 50 lakh 50 lakh CSK
Kyle Jamieson 75 lakh 15 crore RCB
Tom Curran 1.5 crore 5.25 crore DC
Moises Henriques 1 crore 4.2 crore PBKS
Jalaj Saxena 30 lakh 30 lakh PBKS
Utkarsh Singh 20 lakh 20 lakh PBKS
Vaibhav Arora 20 lakh 20 lakh KKR
Fabian Allen 75 lakh 75 lakh PBKS
Daniel Christian 75 lakh 4.8 crore RCB
Liam Livingstone 75 lakh 75 lakh RR
Suyash Prabhudessai 20 lakh 20 lakh RCB
KS Bharat 20 lakh 20 lakh RCB
M Harisankar Reddy 20 lakh 20 lakh CSK
Kuldip Yadav 20 lakh 20 lakh RR
James Neesham 50 lakh 50 lakh MI
Yudhvir Charak 20 lakh 20 lakh MI
K Bhagath Varma 20 lakh 20 lakh CSK
Marco Jansen 20 lakh 20 lakh MI
Saurabh Kumar 20 lakh 20 lakh PBKS
Karun Nair 50 lakh 50 lakh KKR
Kedar Jadhav 2 crore 2 crore SRH
Sam Billings 2 crore 2 crore DC
Mujeeb Ur Rahman 1.5 crore 1.5 crore SRH
Harbhajan Singh 2 crore 2 crore KKR
C Hari Nishaanth 20 lakh 20 lakh CSK
Ben Cutting 75 lakh 75 lakh KKR
Venkatesh Iyer 20 lakh 20 lakh KKR
Pawan Negi 50 lakh 50 lakh KKR
Akash Singh 20 lakh 20 lakh RR
Arjun Tendulkar 20 lakh 20 lakh MI