IPL 2021: Match 4 – RR vs PBKS – Rajasthan Royals Predicted Playing XI

IPL 2021: Match 4 – RR vs PBKS – Rajasthan Royals Predicted Playing XI

Rajasthan Royals had finished at the bottom of the points table in IPL 2020.

Rajasthan Royals
Rajasthan Royals. (Photo Source: IPL/BCCI)

Rajasthan Royals will open their campaign in the Indian Premier League (IPL) 2021 by locking horns against Punjab Kings on Monday (April 12, 2021) at the Wankhede Stadium. The Royals have been one of the most inconsistent teams in recent years and would be hoping to start the brand new season on a promising note. Last year, they had finished at the bottom of the points table after managing just 6 wins. The Royals will take the field this season with a new captain and would be hoping that the new leader changes their fortunes.

So as Rajasthan Royals eye a winning start in IPL 2021, here is their predicted XI for the game against Punjab Kings

Openers: Ben Stokes, Yashasvi Jaiswal

Rajasthan Royals look set to persist with Ben Stokes as their opener and young Yashasvi Jaiswal looks set to get the nod to open the innings alongside the England star. Liam Livingstone is another option but in absence of Jofra Archer, the Royals are likely to boost their bowling lineup with an overseas option. The onus will be on Stokes to deliver the goods at the top of the order for Royals this year.

Stokes was inconsistent last year and scored 285 runs in 8 innings. 107 of those runs came in one innings as the southpaw failed to do well at the top. Jaiswal did not have a good outing either as he managed only 40 runs in 3 outings. The youngster will be desperate to prove himself in the ongoing season. He is likely to get a chance in the season and it is now up to him to make the chances count.

Middle-order: Sanju Samson (C), Jos Buttler (WK), Riyan Parag

The middle-order will be formed by newly-appointed captain Sanju Samson, Jos Buttler, and highly-rated youngster Riyan Parag. Samson has been very consistent for the Royals over the years and would be looking to do even better this season as he makes his debut as a captain. He was the top run-scorer of his team last year and would be looking to replicate his performance this year too. The Royals would be hoping that their new captain justifies their decision and ends their long wait for a second IPL title.

Buttler had a decent outing too in the last edition of the IPL. He was the second-highest run-scorer for the Royals in IPL 2020, scoring 328 runs in 13 outings. The England star once again needs to fire if the Royals are eyeing a good outing. Along with Samson and Buttler, Parag will also have to play a big role in the middle-order. The youngster has already proved his talent in the IPL but is yet to perform consistently. A consistent Parag will do a world of good to Royals’ chances in IPL 2020.

All-rounders: Shivam Dube, Rahul Tewatia, Chris Morris

Royals are likely to take the field with three all-rounders – Shivam Dube, Rahul Tewatia, and Chris Morris. Dube and Morris will be making their debuts although the latter had played for the Royals in the past. The trio has the ability to take any bowling lineup to the cleaners in addition to making a mark with the ball.

Earlier this year, the Royals had made Morris the most expensive player in the history of the competition and would be hoping that he justifies his price tag. Tewatia was a star for the team last year and would be eyeing another good campaign while Dube will be looking to make this season count, to earn a recall from the national team.

Bowlers: Shreyas Gopal, Andrew Tye, Kartik Tyagi

The Royals are likely to play their tournament-opener with two specialist pacers and one specialist spinner. Australia’s Andrew Tye and uncapped India youngster Kartik Tyagi are likely to be the pacers while Shreyas Gopal will spearhead the spin department.

Last year, Tye had a forgettable outing as he played only one game while Tyagi played 10 games and picked up 9 wickets. As far as Gopal is concerned, he played in all 14 games and finished the season with 10 wickets.