IPL 2021: Prize Money won by the award winners of the tournament

IPL 2021: Prize Money won by the award winners of the tournament

Chennai Super Kings lifted their fourth IPL title.

Ruturaj Gaikwad celebrates after scoring a hundred
Ruturaj Gaikwad celebrates after scoring a hundred. (Photo Source: Twitter/Indian Premier League)

Chennai Super King are the champions of the Indian Premier League (IPL) 2021. It was indeed a staggering campaign as CSK endured a horrendous campaign last season, having finished the league stage at the penultimate place. However, the Lions roared back and lifted the prestigious title for the fourth time. MS Dhoni’s men defeated Kolkata Knight Riders by 27 runs on the night of the final to get the glory.

Speaking of how the game unfolded, the coin landed in KKR’s favour, and Eoin Morgan unsurprisingly elected to field. His decision didn’t prove to be fruitful as CSK got off to a flying start. Openers Ruturaj Gaikwad and Faf du Plessis added 61 runs for the first wicket before the former got dismissed. However, Du Plessis didn’t put his guards down and went onto score a brilliant 81.

Faf du Plessis shines in IPL 2021 final

He was well supported by Robin Uthappa and Moeen Ali who chipped in with handy contributions. Riding on their efforts, CSK posted 192/3 in their allotted 20 overs. Chasing the mammoth total, KKR got off to a flying start with Shubman Gill and Venkatesh Iyer adding 91 runs for the first wicket.

The game looked pretty much poised at halfway mark. However, the required run rate was always going up and KKR couldn’t succumb to the pressure. The likes of Sunil Narine, Dinesh Karthik, Eoin Morgan and Nitish Rana failed miserably as KKR’s middle order collapsed. The result became pretty much inevitable after that as the tailenders couldn’t do much.

While pacers Shivam Mavi and Lockie Ferguson did play some delightful shots in the end overs, they could only narrow down the margin of the defeat. As a result, KKR could only manage 165/9, losing the contest by 27 runs. The scenes in the Dubai stadium were to watch out for as CSK players were ecstatic.

While the all-important title went to CSK, there were several individual awards for players as well. While Ruturaj Gaikwad bagged the Orange Cap, the Purple cap went to Harshal Patel. The winners of these awards also bagged a substantial amount for their efforts.

Here’s the prize money won by the award winners of the tournament:-

Emerging Player Award Ruturaj Gaikwad 10 lakh
IPL 2020 Fair Play Award Rajasthan Royals 10 lakh
Game Changer of the Season Harshal Patel 10 lakh
Super Striker of the Season Shimron Hetmyer 10 lakh
Maximum sixes award KL Rahul 10 lakh
Power Player of the Season Venkatesh Iyer 10 lakh
Perfect catch of the season Ravi Bishnoi 10 lakh
Purple Cap Harshal Patel 10 lakh
Orange Cap Ruturaj Gaikwad 10 lakh
Most Valuable Player Harshal Patel 10 lakh
Winner Chennai Super Kings 20 crore
Runner up Kolkata Knight Riders 12.5 crore
3rd Place Delhi Capitals 8.75 crore
4th Place Royal Challengers Bangalore 8.75 crore