CSK Released Players: Here is the complete list of Released Players by CSK For IPL 2022

IPL 2022: List of players released by Chennai Super Kings

CSK named Ravindra Jadeja as their first choice retention.

Chennai Super Kings
Chennai Super Kings. (Photo Source: IPL/BCCI)

The night of 30th November (Tuesday) saw all the eight IPL franchises coming up with their list of retained players. While some of the retentions were very much on cards, some really shook the fans across the world. Talking in terms of four-time champion team Chennai Super Kings, they chose to retain four players. The order of the retention was Ravindra Jadeja (16 cr), MS Dhoni (12 cr), Moeen Ali (8 cr), and Ruturaj Gaikwad (6 cr).

However, as soon as the retained list came to the public eye, many started wondering why the franchise didn’t pick legendary skipper Dhoni as their first-choice retention. During the end of IPL 2021, Dhoni himself had made it clear that the team’s focus will be around building the core group for the next few years. In the same light, CSK player Robin Uthappa added that it must be Dhoni’s decision only to pick Jadeja as the first retention.

“I am sure that is MS Dhoni’s doing itself. He knows the value that Jadeja has to the unit. I think from what I understand, Jadeja might be someone who could end up leading the squad in the future as well when MS Dhoni retires. They have given him the due he deserved,” said Uthappa in a chat with Star Sports.

Apart from the above-mentioned four players, all the players have been released by the franchise into the auction pool. The mega auction is all likely for the end of December or the initial days of January month and it remains to be seen if the franchise will be eyeing some of their main players there. It looks likely that the team will try to fetch the services of Faf du Plessis, Dwayne Bravo, and Deepak Chahar again.

Released players by Chennai Super Kings ahead of IPL 2022

Faf du Plessis, Ambati Rayudu, Suresh Raina, Cheteshwar Pujara, Hari Nishanth, Dwayne Bravo, Bhagath Varma, Krishnappa Gowtham, Mitchell Santner, Robin Uthappa, N Jagadeesan, Deepak Chahar, Harishankar Reddy, Imran Tahir, Karn Sharma, KM Asif, Lungi Ngidi, R Sai Kishore, Shardul Thakur, Jason Behrendorff, Josh Hazlewood, Dominic Drakes.

Purse remaining- 48 Crore