IPL 2022: Match 17- Strongest Chennai Super Kings (CSK) Predicted Playing XI against Sunrisers Hyderabad (SRH)

CSK have lost all their previous 3 matches in IPL 2022.

Chennai Super Kings team
Chennai Super Kings team. (Photo Source: IPL/BCCI)

View : 8.7K

5 Min Read

Get every cricket updates! Follow us on

The defending champions Chennai Super Kings (CSK) will take on the Sunrisers Hyderabad (SRH) in the 17th match of the 2022 Indian Premier League (IPL) at Dr. DY Patil Stadium, Mumbai on April 9 (Saturday). CSK are coming into this match after losing their previous encounter against the Punjab Kings. They are yet to open their account on the points table.

On the other hand, the Sunrisers Hyderabad too, have lost both their matches. They are placed at the bottom of the points table and will be looking to make a mark in this game. Both the teams will see this match as a crucial one as both teams are standing at the bottom of the table and will look to grab their first win.

Let’s take a look at the Chennai Super Kings’ probable playing XI against Sunrisers Hyderabad

Openers:  Ruturaj Gaikwad and Robin Uthappa

Robin Uthappa
Robin Uthappa. (Photo Source: IPL/BCCI)

CSK openers Ruturaj Gaikwad and Robin Uthappa have not performed in unison so far in IPL 2022. The former has got out very early in all the matches he has played so far scoring only two runs in three matches. Robin Uthappa, on the other hand, has scored a fifty against LSG but failed to deliver in the other two matches. Both are capable batters and will look to gain their form in their upcoming match against SRH.

Middle-order: Moeen Ali, Ambati Rayudu, and  MS Dhoni

MS Dhoni
MS Dhoni. (Photo Source: IPL/BCCI)

CSK needs their middle-order to perform well if they want to grab their first win against SRH. Moeen Ali is an important player for CSK but has failed to deliver so far this year. He has to deliver if CSK wants to up the ante in the middle overs, while Ambati Rayudu has also been out of touch in the previous 3 matches, so CSK will hope that he performs well in this match as he is a match-winner.

CSK will also depend greatly on the capable shoulders of MS Dhoni. He has been in an excellent form this season scoring a fifty in the opening game of this year’s IPL. He has scored some good and quick runs for CSK this season.

All-rounders: Shivam Dube, Dwaine Pretorius, Ravindra Jadeja

Shivam Dube
Shivam Dube. (Photo Source: IPL/BCCI)

Shivam Dube is a capable all-rounder and displayed his hitting skills smashing 57 runs in just 30 balls in the previous match against PBKS. He can also bowl and is capable of taking crucial wickets. He will play an important role for CSK in the lower batting order.

Meanwhile, South African all-rounder Dwaine Pretorius has bowled well for CSK picking crucial wickets. He has picked 4 wickets in the 2 matches he played so far in IPL 2022. He is also a good batter and can hit big sixes coming at the lower batting order. CSK skipper Ravindra Jadeja needs to fins his groove with both bat and ball for his team to do well. So far, he hasn’t been up to the mark and will be hoping to make amends.

Bowlers:  Chris Jordan, Rajvardhan Hangargekar, Maheesh Theekshana

Chris Jordan
Chris Jordan. (Photo by AAMIR QURESHI/AFP via Getty Images)

With CSK’s most crucial bowler Deepak Chahar out of the team due to injury, it’s up to the remaining bowlers of CSK to show their talent and make their team proud. England’s Chris Jordan bowled well in the previous match taking 2 wickets against PBKS. He is a good bowler and can take crucial wickets.

Meanwhile, Rajvardhan Hangargekar is yet to play his first match for CSK. He is a fiery fast bowler who can bowl at a speed of 140+ kph. He can make his debut for CSK against SRH as they will be looking to increase their bowling strength and Hangargekar can provide that strength to the bowling. Meanwhile, Maheesh Theekshana could be slotted in for Dwayne Bravo in the playing XI and bowl in the powerplay and strike early for the four-time champions.

CSK Probable Playing XI: 

Ruturaj Gaikwad, Robin Uthappa, Moeen Ali ,Ambati Rayudu, Ravindra Jadeja (c), Shivam Dube, MS Dhoni (wk), Maheesh Theekshana, Dwaine Pretorius, Chris Jordan, Rajvardhan Hangargekar.

Written by Basit Mahmood