IPL 2022: Tilak Varma earns his second consecutive Player of the Match title from Mumbai Indians

MI lost their third consecutive game in IPL 2022 on April 6.

Sachin Tendulkar & Tilak Varma
Sachin Tendulkar & Tilak Varma (Photo Source: Twitter/MI)
Vaishnavi Iyer

Jr. Staff Writer

View : 725

2 Min Read

Get every cricket updates! Follow us on

Mumbai Indians (MI) awarded Tilak Varma with their dressing room Player of the Match award for the second consecutive time for his unbeaten knock of 38*(27) against the Kolkata Knight Riders. Varma, in his previous outing against the Rajasthan Royals, had earned the reward for his well-composed 61 (33).

The Mumbai Indians players are recognized for their performances after every match and one of them is given the Player of the Match title in the dressing room irrespective of the result of the match. Tilak Varma earned his second title after he put up a partnership with Suryakumar Yadav in the game against KKR on Wednesday, in the 14th match of the IPL 2022.

MI shared a video of the youngster receiving the POTM brooch from Sachin Tendulkar in the dressing room as the franchise shared the video on their official Twitter handle captioning it: “2nd consecutive dressing room POTM for the young gun! Varma ji, aapne toh dil jeet liya! #OneFamily #DilKholKe #MumbaiIndians #KKRvMI”.

Mumbai Indians lost the game by 5 wickets against KKR

About the game, Mumbai Indians had managed to post a total of 161 runs in 20 overs as the middle-order batters steered the innings for the team after the top-order batters failed. Suryakumar Yadav made his way back into the side after recovering from his thumb injury, and Dewald Brevis, fondly known as Baby AB, made his debut.

While chasing, MI managed to dismiss Ajinkya Rahane and skipper Shreyas Iyer in the powerplay as they eyed their first victory of the tournament. The game was going good for the five-time champions until Pat Cummins entered and created a ruckus on the field.

Cummins and Venkatesh Iyer punished the bowlers towards the end as MI’s Daniel Sams bowled the most expensive over for his team, conceding 35 runs in the 16th over. Cummins played a brilliant unbeaten knock of a 15-ball 56 and led his game to a massive victory with four overs to spare. Cummins joined KL Rahul and became the fastest batter a half-century, which he did in just 14 balls.

The powerful knocks by Yadav, Varma, and Kieron Pollard went in vain as Cummins and Venkatesh Iyer stole the show to stand on top of the points table.