IPL 8 to start with KKR and MI tie on April 8, 2015

IPL 8 to start with KKR and MI tie on April 8, 2015

IPL 8 to start with KKR and MI tie on April 8, 2015: The 8th season of the most successful domestic cricket league the Indian Premier League is scheduled to begin on April 8, 2015 with the tie between ruling IPL champions the Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR) and former champions the Mumbai Indians (MI) at the famous stadium of Eden Gardens in Kolkata. The final of the Pepsi IPL 2015 will also be played at the Eden Gardens, Kolkata, on May 24, 2015.

IPL 8 to start with KKR and MI tie on April 8, 2015. (Photo Source: BCCI)

The tournament this season will have 8 teams which will play each other in 60 matches during the period of 47 days (including 4 playoff matches). Though no new team has been added to the league this year, we will see new centers host matches. Cricket in the IPL will travel to locations which have been untouched so far and teams will have more than one home ground for support.

The schedule of the IPL 8 is available Here.


The MCA International Stadium at Pune will host three home games of Kings XI Punjab, whilst the Dr. YSR ACA-VDCA Stadium at Visakhapatnam will host three home games of Sunrisers Hyderabad. After a hiatus in 2014, the Shahid Veer Narayan Singh International Stadium at Raipur will once again stage two home games of Delhi Daredevils. Rajasthan Royals will play their home games at the Sardar Patel Gujarat Stadium, Motera, Ahmedabad, and another venue that will be confirmed shortly.

Ranjib Biswal, Chairman of the IPL Governing Council, said, “The top players from all over the world will be seen in action this year at the Pepsi IPL 2015. I am looking forward to some exciting contests in the middle. Over the next couple of weeks, the teams will strengthen their squads in preparedness for the 2015 edition of the Pepsi IPL. I am excited to join the fans to see a lot of exciting cricket over the next three months.