IPL: Captains who stepped down in the middle of a season

IPL: Captains who stepped down in the middle of a season

Ravindra Jadeja recently gave CSK's captaincy back to MS Dhoni. first time that a captain was changed in the middle of a season.

2009: Kevin Pietersen – Anil Kumble

Kevin Pietersen
Kevin Pietersen. (Photo Source: Twitter)

Rahul Dravid was the captain of the Royal Challengers Bangalore in 2008. However, the batter decided to step down from captaincy after the completion of the first season itself. RCB bought the big show Kevin Pietersen ahead of the 2009 IPL season for INR 1.55 million and the franchise straightaway named him the captain for the season.

IPL is the toughest cricket tournament all over the world. The challenges and the hustle that captaining a franchise gives an individual are not easy things to play with. RCB lost four of the first five games under the leadership of Pietersen. The team owner of RCB then Vijay Mallya could not keep his patience and he removed Pietersen from the captaincy.

The Indian leg-spinning wizard Anil Kumble was named Pietersen’s successor. The franchise did exceptionally well under his leadership and they went on to win eight of the next 10 matches and reached the finals. However, they lost to the Deccan Chargers in the final.

Page 2 / 13