IPL: The game of numbers

IPL: The game of numbers

With just a couple of days to go before the start of the Indian Premier League Season 7, let us have a look at the number game of the tournament so far. But to begin the number game, we need to first have a look at the history of the tournament. Beginning with 8 teams in 2008, the IPL kicked off with a swashbuckling 158* by Brendon McCullum, followed it up with some brilliant performances by other batsmen, a surprise hattrick by Rohit Sharma and Mumbai Indians finally lifting the trophy in the sixth season. The 4th season saw 10 teams participating in the mega event but the Kochi franchisee was banned before IPL 5 and Pune, owned by Sahara disbanded themselves after IPL 6.

Let us have a look at the top performers of the Indian Premier League in numbers so far.


Suresh Raina made 38 off just 29

Most runs: Suresh Raina of Chennai Super Kings is currently holding the record of scoring the maximum runs in Indian Premier League with 2802 runs from 99 matches. Second behind him is Rohit Sharma, the captain of Mumbai Indians who has accumulated 2513 runs from 97 matches and is followed by the destructor, Chris Gayle, who has managed just 1 run less but in 59 matches.

Highest score: The person topping this category is none other than the giant, Chris Gayle, the destructive opener of Royal Challengers Bangalore with 175* against Pune Warriors India in the sixth season of the IPL. The second highest score is 158* by Brendon McCullum in the first ever match of the Indian Premier League against Royal Challengers Bangalore.

Most runs in a single season: This category is also topped by Chris Gayle. He scored 733 runs in IPL 2012 from 15 matches. The runner-up in this category is Mike Hussey, who also scored 733 runs in a single season (IPL 2013) but took 17 matches to reach the mark.


Lasith Malinga exults after picking up Robin Uthappa

Most wickets: Lasith Malinga, the pace barrage of Mumbai Indians tops this category with 103 wickets in 73 matches. He is also the only bowler to have taken 100+ wickets in the tournament. Following him is the leg-spinner, Amit Mishra who has accounted for 95 wickets in 76 matches.

Best Bowling Figures: Players from Pakistan are not allowed to feature in IPL since the second season. However, this record belongs to a Pakistani player, who is Sohail Tanvir. He has the best bowling figures of IPL, 4-0-14-6, which he notched up against Chennai Super Kings in the first edition of the IPL.

Best Economy Rate:  Economy is something, that matters the most for a bowler in this format of the game. Over the seasons, only one man has managed to keep his economy rate below 6, and he is the mystery-spinner of Kolkata Knight Riders, Sunil Narine. His economy rate is 5.47 and this has proved an important cog in the wheel of the Kolkata franchisee.


Zaheer Khan helps Ravi Rampaul with the fields

Highest totals: The highest team total in IPL is 263-5 by Royal Challengers Bangalore against Pune Warriors India in Bangalore on 23rd April 2013

Lowest totals: The lowest team total in IPL is 58-10 by Rajasthan Royals against Royal Challengers Bangalore in Cape Town on 18th April 2009.

Longest winning streak: The longest winning streak in IPL is held by 3 teams, who won 7 consecutive matches. They are Chennai Super Kings (2013), Mumbai Indians (2008) and Royal Challengers Bangalore (2011).

Longest winlesss streak: This record is owned by Pune Warriors India, as they lost 9 consecutive matches for 2 consecutive times in 2012 and 2013.

All rights reserved with CricTracker for this post.