Kagiso Rabada claims six awards on CSA annual night

Debutant Kagiso Rabada
Kagiso Rabada’ (Photo Source: AFP)

21-year old South African sensation Kagiso Rabada swept the CSA awards’ annual night as he went on to claim six different awards on the night held in Johannesburg. The South African pacer not only claimed the Cricketer of the year award but also claimed the One Day International cricketer of the year and the Test cricket of the year award as well.

In spite of South Africa’s poor run in all formats in the 2015-2016 season, they have certainly found a gem of a player in Kagiso Rabada. The 21-year old picked up 30 wickets in 14 ODI matches including a 6 wicket haul, something that would go on to become his best bowling figures in ODI cricket. He also picked up 24 wickets in Test matches, a few of which came in series losses against India and England respectively.


“Simply outstanding! Congratulations to Kagiso on recording one of the most remarkable debut years that any young cricketer has achieved in our history,” CSA Chief Executive, Haroon Lorgat said. “Added to his record-breaking performances and statistics is his humility and level-headedness that you would normally associate with a senior player.

“With injuries to our main fast bowlers during this past year, he has had to step up and lead the attack. How brilliantly has he done that!”

Also read – My mind is not on IPL now, my mind was on winning this series: Kagiso Rabada

Rabada also won the Players’ Players award as well as the best Delivery award with the latter coming from a fan poll vote that Rabada reportedly won by a country mile. The delivery came against Jason Roy in the England v South Africa T20 international that took place at the Wanderers Stadium in Johannesburg. Leg-spinner Imran Tahir claimed the T20I cricketer of the year award courtesy of his highly impressive economy rate of 6.83 in 11 matches.

33-year old Stephen Cook claimed the ‘Newcomer of the year’ award as he smashed an impressive century on Test debut against England at Centurion earlier this year. The KFC Award of Excellence was bagged by Temba Bavuma for registering his maiden Test century, also against England at Newlands in the same series. Newly appointed skipper Dane van Niekerk was named the Women’s Cricketer of the Year.

Also read – 10 Interesting facts about Kagiso Rabada

Award Winners:


SA Cricketer of the Year: Kagiso Rabada
Castle Lager Test Cricketer of the Year: Kagiso Rabada
Castle Lager ODI Cricketer of the Year: Kagiso Rabada
Oxigen T20 International Cricketer of the Year: Imran Tahir
SA Players’ Player of the Year: Kagiso Rabada
SA Fans’ Player of the Year: Kagiso Rabada
KFC ‘So Good’ Award: Temba Bavuma
RAM Delivery of the Year: Kagiso Rabada
International Newcomer of the Year: Stephen Cook
Momentum women’s Cricketer of the Year: Dane van Niekerk


Sunfoil Series Cricketer of the Season: Heino Kuhn (Multiply Titans)
Momentum One-Day Cup Cricketer of the Season: Alviro Petersen (bizhub Highveld Lions)
RAM SLAMMER of the Season: Albie Morkel (Multiply Titans)
Pitchvision Coach of the Year: Rob Walter (Multiply Titans)
Domestic Players’ Player of the Season: Heino Kuhn (Multiply Titans)
Domestic Newcomer of the Year: Nicky van den Bergh (bizhub Highveld Lions)
Africa T20 Cup Player of the Tournament: Lungi Ngidi (Northerns)
CSA Fair Play Award: Cape Cobras
SACA Most Valuable Player Award: Dwaine Pretorius (bizhub Highveld Lions)


CSA Groundsman of the Year: Bethuel Buthelezi – GCB
CSA Scorers’ Association of the Year: Gauteng Cricket Board
CSA Umpires’ Umpire of the Year: Adrian Holdstock
CSA Umpire of the Year: Adrian Holdstock